Petlife logo

The Mystery Box

What Could It Be Created By Mariann Carroll

By Mariann CarrollPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
11
The Mystery Box
Photo by Becca Tapert on Unsplash

2020, A year I will never forget. I was going to turn 15 years old. Latinos and Spanish families Celebrate Quinceanera Traditions for their daughters entering their womanhood. You are considered a woman at 15 years old in Spanish families. It's a very festive event in a 15 -year- old girl's life. Family saved up for this. I was looking forward to the Quinceanera Waltz (El Bals). I got my beautiful white dress last year. Its cost my parents $200.00 in a sale. My guest list was already made. The theme was going to be Cinderella. I had the venue to be in the New York Grand Hotel. We were going to have pictures taken at Central Park. I had my dance partner pick out among male friends, for the El Bals. All Sixteen of us was supposed to start practiced that week before my birthday for the waltz.

My 15th birthday was July 27, 2020. I was able to speak to my friends and family on zoom. I was still very sad and depressed about it being canceled. I got a ton of brown boxes delivered to my house on that day. They still have not cheered me up. I was an only child, my parents' princess. My parents had me late in their life. I knew my parents were upset with the state, I was in. I heard my parents whispering my name several times, behind their bedroom closed door. How could this happen to me? The special day of my life RUIN!!!!! My mother had a friend who runs a nonprofit dog rescue center. My mother told me her friend needed volunteers to take care of her rescues from 4 pm to 6 pm on weekdays. I said, why not, I have nothing better to do. I can't hang out in person with my friends.

I started volunteering the first week in August. My mother's friend, Rosa called on my cell phone the day before I was to start. " Could you help out longer, like till 7 pm instead of 6 pm?" Ms. Rosa asked. I told her, "Sure." I arrived at the " Amigo rescue Dog Center " at 5 minutes before 4 o'clock ,Wednesday afternoon. I made sure I had on my mask decorated with different dog images on it.There were several teenagers helping there around my age wearing designer face mask as well. Ms.Rosa provided every volunteer with a Amigo Rescue Dog Center T-shirt. She also sells them for fund raisers for the rescue center. I bought five t-shirts before I started helping at the rescue centers. There was a lot of task needed to be done, walking the dogs, cleaning the cages, feeding on time and help them find new permanent homes. I forgot all about my ruin quincenera, after volunteering at the rescue center for two weeks. All I wanted to do is find permanent suitable homes for the rescue dogs.

You cannot volunteer at the dog rescue center without falling in love with one or two of the dogs there. The Great Dean Pete is my favorite. Great Dean Pete was high energy and love to take nips at any caregiver who come in his cage. No one really like to volunteer to take Great Dean Pete for a walk. In the Back of the Dog Rescue Center there is a walk path made especially for the dogs. There are obstacle course to excersice the dogs who are high energy. I spent my time on the phone and computer finding a home for Pete.Three weeks into my Volunteering, the Amigo Dog Rescue Center finally got a call, someone wanted to adopt Great Dean Pete. I was so excited and happy. I keep my fingers cross , that this is Great Dean Petes new owner. Ms. Rose let me introduce Great Dean Pete to his new owner. I was worried that Great Dean Pete was going to nip at his new owner and they might change their mind. I told Pete that morning no more nipping at people.Pete has a cute way of moving his head showing he is listening.

Pete finally met his new owner, She was a beautiful Hispanic woman in her late thirties. I told her all I know about Pete. Lucia was Pete new owner. Lucia asked me, what made me volunteer at the Amigo Dog Rescue Center. I told her about my Quinceanera. Great Dean Pete seem to fall in love at first sight with Lucia. He was on his best behavior and never nip at Lucia not even once. I was so surprise. Lucia has a very soft musical spanish accent voice. Lucia spoke to Pete softly and walk him on his leash out of the Dog Rescue Center. Pete fallow her eagerly. I watch Pete get in the Lucia, Blue SUV. I was so happy for Pete.

The fallowing week, I received a mystery brown box at the center while I was working with fifteen red roses. Ms. Rose handed it to me. I thought it was from Ms. Rose but It was not from her. In the box was a card from Pete new owner, Lucia. In the card was written . " I never celebrate my Quencenera either because my mother died of cancer a week before my birthday. I hope the Tiara Crown and Plane Ticket to Disney with a few of your friends will make up for your not being able to celebrate Quinceanera traditionally." The Tiara was so beautiful made for a princess.There was five plane tickets and five Walt Disney gate passes, dated for next summer July 27,2021.

There is nothing as rewarding and bring you joy than volunteering your time for a good cause. Your life problems can seem meaningless.

.

adoption
11

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.