Petlife logo

The Most Important Meal of the Day… For Pups!

My pups morning routine is essential for her to have a successful day.

By Tiler PeckPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read

Supported byOllie

Top Story - January 2023
28

Every self-help guide would agree that starting the day with a healthy meal is the key to a successful day. Could this also be true for our pups? Is it possible they’ll be more patient when you don’t have time to throw the ball for the hundredth time? Will it improve their focus to simply walk next to you on the sidewalk, rather than entrapping innocent bystanders with their never-ending leash? If you ask me, it is most definitely true for my pup, Cali! Her affection, patience, and energy are noticeably more intense when she’s had a hearty meal.

Our Morning Rituals

Eating breakfast with my pup is one of my favorite parts of the day. It allows her and I the opportunity to fuel up for the adventures ahead before walks, playtime, and everything in between.

My six A.M. alarm in the morning lets Cali and I know it's time to rise and shine! We always make time for a morning snuggle, even when I’m in a hurry. After our cuddling time comes to an end, I get up, wash my face, and lead Cali to the kitchen where we’ll both eat our much anticipated breakfast. I usually fix myself up some oatmeal with eggs, but some days, when I’m feeling particularly inspired, I’ll go in and make myself avocado toast paired with a parfait of sorts. Just like my breakfast is used as fuel to help me operate my day with energy and resilience, Cali’s Ollie breakfast does the same! Eating a well-balanced, hearty meal for breakfast has become the norm for Cali as the protein and fiber in each meal give her the strength and agility she needs to fill her days with vigor and fun. The pinnacle of quality and nutrition, Ollie’s recipes are made from real meat, fruits, veggies, and grains, giving Cali a satisfying meal each and every morning. After Cali and I finish our respective meals, it's walk time. Sometimes it feels like Cali walks me! She has so much energy after eating and briskly walks through the neighborhood with an eager focus while her tail wags in the wind. After we get back home, drink some water, and cuddle a tiny bit more- it’s officially time to start our day.

Benefits of a Good, Hearty Breakfast

Why is it that breakfast is the most important meal of the day? Just like humans, breakfast is the most vital meal because it kick-starts the metabolism and fills up an empty stomach. In my experience, eating a nutritious meal gives me the energy to start my day on the right foot. As a dancer, my days regularly require a surplus of physical energy, so I am very mindful about what I eat for breakfast. I am just as thoughtful about what I feed my pup, Cali.

Eating a hearty meal at the beginning of the day is something Cali and I love to do together. As I've mentioned, I know that Cali’s health, happiness, and longevity begin with the food she eats in the morning. Superior ingredients lead to the best nutrition, which is why I love getting Cali's meals from Ollie! I only want the absolute best for Cali, and with Ollie, I know I can trust that Cali's morning will be filled with nutrients and her day will be loaded with energy.

Because Cali enjoys Ollie’s meals, she’ll be happy and healthy for years to come! It's very important to maintain a routine when feeding your pup in the morning. If I accidentally oversleep or miss our morning meal, Cali knows. If your dog is used to eating at a certain time every morning, you will find that they get up that early on the weekends, too. It's good to have this routine with your furry friend! It keeps you accountable for their best nutrition and for yours if you eat at the same time, which is recommended. To make this a bit sweeter, make sure their food is tasty, and you can’t go wrong with food from Ollie!

Why Ollie?

Dogs have simple stomach anatomy, just like us. Because our furry friends have a simple stomach structure, once the stomach is filled with food, it will empty within a few hours as food moves into the small intestine. After 8 to 10 hours, an empty stomach begins to send signals to the brain stimulating a hunger response. For this reason, at least two meals per day are best for your dog, breakfast being the priority. Enter Ollie! Ollie is all-natural food for dogs that is perfectly portioned to provide nutrients our pups need that deliver visible results, like shiny coats, great energy, and better digestion.

Ollie’s freshly cooked food is the simplest way to keep your dog strong and in good shape at any age. With four delicious, vet-approved recipes to choose from it keeps meal time exciting and fresh. It's clear that our pups want to eat what we’re eating, so why not feed them delicious, freshly-cooked meals that are delivered right to your door? That's what Ollie offers! I feel so lucky to have found a brand that shares my values when it comes to keeping my pup well-fed and in good spirits.

The next time you’re whipping up your own breakfast, consider making it breakfast time for your dog as well. The benefits are more than worth it, believe me! Visit Ollie today for hearty and healthy meals and introduce them to your pup by taking the quiz, and if you subscribe today you can receive 50% off your first box of meals.

pet food
28

About the Creator

Tiler Peck

Principal Dancer with the New York City Ballet 👑 I love to share my passion for the art by hosting Instagram live dance classes named, “Turn It Out with Tiler”, designing my own line of leotards, and publishing a children’s book called “Katerina Ballerina”.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Deth Angel9 months ago

    So, an advertisement for a dogfood subscription from an account that has only posted 1 story in 7 months makes it to the featured stories? And is a "Writer we're loving"? How? Why? I mean, if this is what it takes to get this kind of recognition from Vocal, then I have been wasting my time trying to actually write.

  • Aiden Bliski11 months ago

    Great article :)

  • suman mohanabout a year ago

    👍

  • Heather Lunsfordabout a year ago

    Loved your article. Dogs do give us so much, giving them quality food is the least we can do for them. We had a real challenge with our big dog finding the right food for him. Found out he was intolerant of grain of any kind. So worth it to see him healthy and happy and grain free.

  • Mark Grahamabout a year ago

    Loved your article. I also have a dog and she eats breakfast with me as well. She wakes me up around 5:30AM time to go out and do her business and then come back in eat something like snuggling with me while I check my sites.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.