Petlife logo

The Importance of Keeping Your Cat Inside

Feline Leukemia and the Importance of Vaccination

By Stephayne CoatneyPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

If you asked me this time last year how I felt about my pet situation, I would have said I'm overjoyed! As I sit here and stare at the picture of two of my babies, I get a heavy heart. Maybe if I would have kept them inside or gotten them vaccinated sooner, they would still be here with me. Feline leukemia stormed through my house, in total killing four of my cats. The youngest cat being six months and the oldest cat being a little over a year. I had to put each and every one of them to sleep and because of that. There is a stain on my soul that will never come clean. It could have been prevented.

Feline leukemia is sneaky. Cats may show no signs during the early stages, over weeks, months, or even years. Health may progressively deteriorate once it is noticed. There is no cure for this unforgiving disease. Personally, the longest any of my cats lasted with this illness was a few short months.

Here are some steps to prevent feline leukemia from ever becoming an issue. (It can happen to any cat at any time. It is a very common illness that cares not for the breed or age.)

To begin with, a vaccine is recommended for all cats at risk of exposure, even cats that are not. Meaning any and all cats that step one foot outside should be vaccinated before they ever leave.

Keep your cats indoors! I can't stress this enough. If only I had done this all sooner, my babies would still be here with me. If you do allow your cat outdoors, provide supervision and or a place for them to roam in a secure enclosure.

The good news is that the virus will not survive outside a cat for more than a few hours in most environments.

Any new cats or kittens should be properly vaccinated before entering the household.

Feline leukemia is a nasty sickness for cats. It takes them quickly. I poured several hundred dollars into medical supplies just to lose them in the end. I ended up putting each of them to sleep one by one. When it got to the point where I knew they would not survive and their quality of life became so diminished... I knew it was time. So keep your cats inside!

For those of you whom may have a cat that is infected with leukemia, and are searching for anything at all to help, here are a few things that may ease their suffering and help keep other cats in your household safe.
  1. Keep the infected cat away from all other cats in the household.
  2. Clean and disinfect all items the cat has used that other cats may come into contact with.
  3. Pick up the vitamin L-Lysine. It helps with the immune system and can help with the suffering and could potentially prolong their life.
  4. When your cat is unable to enjoy their life as they used to, you need to make the right choice and have them euthanized. They would prefer to go out with dignity, instead of suffering and dying a horrible death, gasping for air, before they slowly suffocate and die. If you wouldn't want this for a loved one, do not force it on your furry family member either.
  5. Make peace, and enjoy the time you have with the one that has brought you so much joy, and remember them for the rest of your days.

In loving memory of Chappie, Blue, Memow, and Bubba.

Her name was Boo. Feline Leukemia took her life of six months.

health
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.