Petlife logo

The “Dollar” That Is Made of Gold

A Love Story Between a Girl and Her Furry Friend!

By MelanyPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

When I was small, I always had this crazy obsession with the dream of having a dog! But, the problem wasn’t just my parents. I lived in apartments where they didn’t allow any pets. I was an only child, so imagine how lonely I felt. Over the years, I kept and kept asking my mom for a dog but, not to be ungrateful or anything, she got me a cat instead, his name was Thomas. Yeah I know I said that the apartments I lived in didn’t let us have any pets, but we kind of broke the rule. We hid him for years and years. Then, one day, the landlord saw it and literally kicked us out so we had to look for another place. We then found other apartments that animals weren’t allowed either, but this nice woman had a cat also. She then proceeded to tell us, “Don’t worry, you don’t have to hide it, no one's going to tell on you.” As I must remind you that I am an only child not used to any kids, but now I had to get used to playing with my little neighbors.

One day, I decided to finally share with them my biggest secret and as I remember, my words were “Guys, I don’t want to tell you but I have a cat!” I know right, that sounds stupid, but hey! I was just a 10-year-old. After that, people started seeing that we had Thomas, my cat, outside and inside the apartment and people started buying dogs, cats, bunnies, and birds. By the age of 12, I started asking for a dog again. My mom kept saying no because she got so attached to my cat that she called him her son and he even received more attention than I did. The years passed and Thomas grew old and he passed away. I was very sad and after a year passed, my mom noticed that I was still depressed and that started getting in the way of school. So she found a solution! She took me to a dog shelter and told me to look for any dog I wanted. But here’s the deal, there was this beautiful black, chubby, and brown-eyed puppy that caught my attention. No matter how hard I looked at other dogs, I knew he was the one. So we adopted him. I decided to name him “Dollar” because I had heard that when a dollar is given to you and you keep it for a really long time it gives you gold luck. My mom thought it was stupid, but I loved the name and I knew it fitted him well. The first week we brought “Dollar” home he was really nervous, he actually peed on my mom’s leg! But then it came to the second week, where he was running up and down the couch, beds, and stairs. It didn’t bother me at all, instead, it made me so happy. I was glad that I was able to give him a home and he was able to give me happiness. Dollar may have the personality of a human but his heart is pure gold. Dogs are so special, they just become part of your family, you never want to leave their side, and they never want to leave your side. Once you get a dog, you fall into a love spell that could never be broken. Remember a dog's heart is made of gold, it could never be broken, but only if you accept them. Never reject a dog because believe me, a dog can surprise you in many ways.

If you're reading this, thank you very much for reading this! I know it’s not the best but I just want people to realize how important dogs can be to people.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.