Petlife logo

The Dog Who Saved My Life

April: Dog Appreciation Month

By Ashley TrippPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
Like
Lily, the star of the show

This is my dog, Lily. There is so much to say about her that there is no way I will be able to accurately do it in a blog post. However, I’m going to try.

If you’ve read any of my stuff before, you know I am recovering from all kinds of abuse. You’ll also know I am suffering from long-term, devastating illness.

Those two things alone have made friendship, intimacy, and relationships extremely difficult.

Like most people with my background, I have created walls  in my life to protect myself from pain.

Lily has managed to tear through every single one.

When we first got Lily, it was because our dog had recently passed away, leaving an emptiness in our house.

Miraculously, at the same time, one of my mom’s friends found Lily in a box on the side of the road. It was a perfect coincidence that changed my life.

She is my best friend. She is my rock. She is my protector. She is my unofficial emotional support animal and my official traveling companion.

There are not many places I go that Lily doesn’t.

Lily and I have developed a special deep bond.

When I say she is my unofficial support animal, I truly mean it.

She senses panic attacks before they happen. She often whimpers so I focus on petting her and licks me to try to calm me down. She will even lie her entire body on top of me as an organic weighted blanket.

Lily got me through my parents' messy divorce. She was reliant when my father abandoned us. She was there to console me as my family broke apart. She has licked the tears off my face countless times. She even somehow knows how to make me laugh to stop crying.

She was critical in my ability to finish college with a debilitating illness. When I was forced to transition to online courses, Lily would sit in every class with me. She silently offered her support every time.

When I underwent severe medication rounds, she would sleep with me every night. She was right within reach at all times, refusing to leave my side. When I needed to sleep on the couch, unable to be in my own bed, she stayed there too.

Every time I cry or laugh she is there.

She sits with me on the front porch, exploring the yard while I try to soak up the sunlight. I laugh as I watch her wiggle in the grass, enjoying life to the fullest.

She is fiercely protective of me, blocking off anyone she worries would hurt me.

She is my soul dog

Our connection is special, once in a lifetime. She has seen me at my lowest, in the most pain, and she has been an ever-constant through it all.

I can confidently say she has saved my life many times over.

There is no one more loyal, loving, kind, and protective than her. She's made me feel loved when I felt entirely alone.

I cherish every second I get to spend with her, and I know I will for the rest of my life.

But that's what dogs do, isn't it? They aren't called "man's best friend" for no reason.

They are our most loyal confidantes, our funniest pals, our truest companions.

There's no other way to describe our relationship other than that I have been truly blessed.

So, this April, hold your furry friends a little closer. Give them extra love. Give them extra treats. Try to actively pay attention and absorb your time together.

They are so worth it.

healthtrainingtherapyhumanityfeaturedog
Like

About the Creator

Ashley Tripp

I’m a freelance writer & artist. I create pieces about the things that move me with the hopes that they move my readers too. My work has been featured in multiple publications. Check out my website for more at https://msha.ke/ashleytripp

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.