Petlife logo

The Dog that Saved my Life

Something Beautiful and Life-Changing Ahead

By Amy HallPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
11
My Black Lab - Coon Hound

The day my dog, Denali, saved my life is definitely my fondest memory of her. She is my unofficial service animal and I highly recommend you get one of your own. You never know when their unconditional love, dedication, and steadfast companionship will come in handy. Dogs are known for saving the lives of humans for many years running. They can even be trained to do so in a number of ways. The course of action she took to rescue me would probably be considered a non-traditional method, with no training required.

The events leading up to meeting my savior are dark, depressing and tragic. Unfortunately, I have lived a life that most people would have been crushed by long ago. With her bright, brown eyes and excited black tail; she completes me. The decision to welcome a dog into my life, in no uncertain terms, saved me from myself.

I would have to say that after the year 2015, my life took a turn for the worst. Five horrible years would follow until I would be introduced to my girl, my friend, and my confidant. My secrets she will hold forever; never telling a soul. Not once would she judge or ostracize me. Only to lend a paw, motivate me and force me to match her energy; even when I was not up to it. In the year 2018, I would get so low I wanted to take my life.

I was in and out of treatment for alcoholism, fueled by an overpowering depression. Bringing us to the year of 2020, when a counsellor would suggest I got myself a pet. It made perfect sense! When I was growing up, there was always a family dog in the house and I recall it being such a wonderful experience. Little did I know she was going to be the first step and my biggest support in becoming and staying sober.

This would be a winding and slippery slope with many stops along the way. Getting sober and staying that way is not how she would save my life, however it was greatly improved. I would falter many times, like most addicts will on their journey through sobriety. Denali was just one piece of a complicated puzzle. Removing the alcohol brought many unresolved, intense and emotional issues that I would now need to face.

With many walks, dog park adventures and car rides, I began getting better. Accompanying me to my appointments helped me greatly, and I had a self-care plan involving Denali and I. She made it abundantly clear when I did not bring her with me, she was deeply devastated. She wouldn’t eat the healthy food I set out for her until the minute after she greeted me playfully and with great joy to see me.

With all that being said, she had still not saved my life. That moment would come late in 2020 on a cold winter’s night. Those dark thoughts had emerged again, and I was experiencing some grave mental health concerns once again. The cause of these emotional traumas vary, however, one being the same as always. I can not have children. This leaves a withering hole within my soul that can not be filled, no matter how many fury companions I adopt into my life.

I had thoughts of taking my life again. Like before, I developed a plan, and I was going to proceed. I locked myself in my room, leaving her in the living room. My landlords lived upstairs and would find her and see to it she was placed somewhere safe. I just could not take the pain anymore and I saw no other way. Then suddenly a truly miraculous event occurred.

Likely sensing something was wrong and hearing my wailing cries, this beautiful creature somehow beat down my locked door and ran to my rescue. As I lay on the bed crying, she jumped onto my chest and licked my face with fury. As if to say, “No, no, no, Mom! Everything is going to be alright!” We laid there together until I fell asleep and I will forever remember this day and this dog. I very much believe she is my earthly angel and continues to be my savior.

Shortly afterwards, my life took a turn for the better. I met my current partner. He has three children that I hold dear to my heart. His youngest son was without a Mother and I stepped in to take that role on. With him and his siblings, my partner and Denali; we are a family.

Taking on the world one day at a time, I feel somewhat complete. My depression is still a major concern, however I am finally safe. I truly believe that on that faithful day, she saved my life. If you have these thoughts, just remember that in a day, a week, a month, or longer; something beautiful and life changing could be headed your way.

adoptionbreedsdogfact or fictionfeaturehealthhumanitypet foodtherapy
11

About the Creator

Amy Hall

I have written since a little girl. With love for story telling, I was eager to learn how to write, so I could piolet my own adventures! I finally am pursuing as a career but have no idea where to start! Consider subscribing! Enjoy!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Robbie Newportabout a year ago

    Great story, love the dog, we have a lab too, they are great dogs. So glad your recovery is going well, my wife and I are in recovery too, praying for those with addictions every day.

  • Chloe Gilholyabout a year ago

    My friends' dogs are always very compassionate and friendly. There's no such thing as a bad dog in my opinion. Lovely piece.

  • Really touching story and I loved reading it. Just subscribed and thanks again for your comments on mine.

  • BEER BRAND2 years ago

    Dog.. its not just like pet.. its of our family.. my dog is my real hero sometimes..

  • Brenton F2 years ago

    https://youtu.be/puJrcdOVDQc

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Very touching story about you and your dog. I’m so sorry you have been through such difficult times, but I’m glad you had Denali to help you. I subscribed and left a heart.

  • Dogs - the best friends in the world. So glad she was there for you.

  • Simon Schmitz2 years ago

    Nice work!

  • Our pets are so much more than pets..Great piece…

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.