Petlife logo

The day I found you....

My doggy love story.

By louise coombsPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
The day i found you............

I happened to come across my baby by accident.

Someone owed my now husband some money, it was just a guy he worked with and one day he stopped showing up for work. So we went to see him.

When we arrived the house was a mess and everything my husband had told me fell into place, this was a house of addiction, and all we could hear was barking an yapping. My stomach turned, this was one of my worst nightmares.

We went into the house and a rush of fluff bundles came charging at us, in all that mess the cutest animals came to greet us. Except one little one who hung back. After talking to this guy for a while he explained that they all had secured homes except the little "runt" as he explained him too us. I looked at my husband and it was like he instinctively knew what I was thinking "Forget the money mate, give me the dog instead" That was the day I found my Buddy.

He is 5 now, the most amazingly loving dog, but 2 years ago he changed.

I fell extremely ill, I was brought back to life one night in the hospital and since then my Buddy has become something more to me.

When I arrived home from the hospital he bounded at the back door, he always preferred to be out doors but this day if we hadn't have opened the door he would have come through the glass. He came in sat beside me just alert, waiting.

My husband put me in bed and Buddy followed, he never got onto our bed but that day he didn't jump forcefully like any other dog would, he put his two front legs on and lifted himself on gently. As I lay there he sniffed around me nuzzling the covers into me and then laid next to me I would say for hours but days would be more appropriate. He was fine with the people in the house that he knew, family, close friends but anyone else came to visit he would growl and bare his teeth.

I was in recovery for almost a year and my Buddy was my own personal guard dog, to this day he still thinks he needs to protects me.

I'm not sure who was saving who.

dog

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    louise coombsWritten by louise coombs

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.