Petlife logo

The Cat That Saved My Life

Story of a Life-Saving Best Friend

By Emilie TurnerPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Penelope as a kitten

Anxiety cripples me. Depression keeps a firm grasp on my life. Days blur together. The colourless world embraces me every time I open my eyes. Hopelessness is all I can feel day in and day out.

11:45am. I was never much of a morning person, but this was overkill to avoid the morning. I rolled over with a groan, not wanting to face the day ahead. Each day is filled with the same things, the same colourless, monotoned things.

I made my way to the kitchen, aimlessly opening the fridge door. Everything looks bland and unappetising. Why did we need to eat? Did we need to eat? I pondered how long I could last without food as my stomach started to gurgle. Not long, I conceded as I pulled out a piece of bread.

I couldn’t be bothered to toast it or even put butter on it. I ate the bread plain as I tried to think of what I had to do today. It was midday. Was there any point in doing anything? I’d already wasted half the day; would it matter if I wasted the rest?

The television turned on, and I aimlessly flicked through the channels. Nothing seemed interesting. It all felt the same - lifeless and colourless. Pointless. I settled on a series I’d watched a million times. My comfort show, I called it. Ironically, a comedy. But it was no longer funny. Maybe I’d just watched it too many times or maybe the jokes just no longer appealed to me. But I couldn’t be bothered to search for a different show.

I heard a knock at the door. Frowning, I looked at my watch. 5:30. Where had the last few hours gone? If I wanted to be productive, it wouldn’t happen now. But I knew productivity never happened to me anymore.

I shuffled to the door, wincing as my smiling mother greeted me. If she noticed the unwashed hair and stained pyjamas, she did a good job hiding it. I’d be disgusted in me too. Such a disappointment as a child. Useless.

She chatted about something. I wasn’t really paying attention. My anxiety peaked as she mentioned my sister and the things she was accomplishing. I knew I was worthless; there was no point confirming this more.

She stared at me silently, and I realised she must have asked a question. I tried to speak, but no words emerged - I’d been caught. I wasn’t listening, and she knew it.

She rolled her eyes and picked up a crate next to her. I didn’t notice it before - was I really that blind? Too self-centred to see she had something on her? I wasn’t sure what was happening until the tiny kitten was plonked in my arms. A pure white cat meowed and looked up at me, waiting for something.

“It’s for you,” said my mother. “It’s a girl.”

I awkwardly placed the cat on the ground. I tried to argue, tried to give the cat back. But my mother refused and soon left me alone with the cat. I couldn’t even care for myself, and she gave me a cat?

My mother brought some supplies with her. Litter and food - did I need anything else for a cat? What could I do with it? I’d probably neglect it. I couldn’t take on this kind of responsibility.

The cat meowed and circled the bag of food. I glanced at my watch. 6pm. Maybe she was hungry?

I gave her some food and watched in fascination as she gobbled it up. I’d never seen something so engrossed with their food before. I hadn’t felt that kind of happiness with food in a long time.

I grabbed bread out of the fridge, pausing before deciding to add some butter. It had been a long time, but I felt I needed something more while this cat happily ate her food.

I returned to the television, shocked when the cat followed me. I watched her awkwardly clamber up the sofa and settle herself beside me, purring loudly as my hand gently rested on her tiny body.

When it started to get late, I considered going to bed early. I didn’t know if cats slept like we did, but maybe she’d prefer the bed to the couch. I know I did.

She followed me to my room and happily curled up on my other pillow. I was glad I had opted for a double bed; she’d have space. She looked up at me, and I felt a tiny flicker of joy for the little cat. Her big blue eyes stood out in my colourless world.

Maybe I could see colour again, find joy again. Perhaps this little kitten could help. “Penelope,” I whispered as I gently stroked her head. “That’s your name.”.

I knew I'd found my saviour when she woke me at 6am for breakfast. I was awake in the morning with a purpose for the first time in a long time. I wouldn’t let her down.

cattherapyadoption
Like

About the Creator

Emilie Turner

I’m studying my Masters in Creative Writing and love to write! My goal is to become a published author someday soon!

I have a blog at emilieturner.com and I’ll keep posting here to satisfy my writing needs!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.