Petlife logo

THE CAT BANDIT

Strange Hours

By Michelle MathisPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

The night was a still night, but for this little cat bandit, it was a steal. In her natural stealth of movement to creep onto the scene, she noticed all that was in her path on this very night before Halloween. In her mind, she believed this was her night to get the treats that she deserved. Any other night, she just does her usual roundabout routines of naps and playing on her cat tower, but tonight was different. It was as if she had changed from day to night to be this new cat. Javanie, the cat's name, has always been a part of my life, but she was more independent today to play her role for Halloween as the cat bandit. This being her first Halloween, she got dressed in her bandit outfit and sought to get her treats like a good girl. I was around with my cat, Bandit, to play with her and give her the tricks or treats she deserved. The cat bandit was able to creep throughout the house to find out where all the treats and tricks were in the house. Just like a bandit who would rob people while they travel, my cat would go into the open cubby and rob me to get her a treat from me. This bandit was a very cute one, so I had no choice but to be robbed by this bandit that stole my affections on this Halloween day.

Thinking back to how this cat bandit entered my life, I was nostagic for a friendly companion around that time. I recently lost my other furry friend to her playful life outside. I am not sure what happened, but my previous cat was let out to play and never came back. I went to all the places looking for her, but she was nowhere to be found. I went and reported the old cat to many missing venues for pets. Yet, there were no responses and no sight of my beloved cat that had disappeared. It left me heartbroken. My old cat was the only real affection I had in my life and I was missing her deeply. Until I received a call from my sister that her cat had just had some more kittens from where I got my old cat. I couldn't be more ecstatic about the news that I would have a new beginning with a new furry friend. I know we all know how it feels to lose someone and it hurt badly that I lost the other cat, but this one I vowed to never lose and would be my forever friend. Today, on this Halloween, her costume is appropriate because she stole my heart when I went to get her and have her as my furry friend. It was a new beginning for her and I was excited to start again. So, on this Halloween night, which is the first Halloween we will spend together, I had to make it special by putting on her costume. It was quite a task as she fussed and tussled until she got into her role as the cat bandit, but she did it. As the cat bandit, she was playing for Halloween. She even had to steal a picture, and it had to be quick. This is the picture you people have now. I hope you enjoy it as she does not like to be caught stealing hearts. Halloween is supposed to be about the celebration of remembering the departed, and I wanted to remember the departure of my first cat, while the celebration of the new cat will live on in her memory.

P.S. From the Author:

Thank you for reading my Cat Bandit Challenge story. If you liked it, please give it a heart. While a tip is appreciated, it isn't necessary. This pet life story is dedicated to my lost cat. May she be happier than ever.

cat
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Mathis

I lived before I lived and lived even after I have lived.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.