Petlife logo

The Black Rabbit

Written By Ryan Gordon on March 2, 2021

By Ryan GordonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

On a quiet Sunday afternoon, I was working all day from home on tax documents for my online business. My suburban neighborhood of Nottingham was covered in a thick white fog, where you can barely see anything with clarity. Bored out of my weary self and being stuck inside my bedroom with piles of paperwork, I grabbed my black fedora and my leather shoes to leave my house.

As I walked out the red front door and walked into a local park called Sherwood Heights, I saw a little black rabbit with red eyes curiously hopping towards me. I approached it and it sniffed my ashy brown hands, which made me think that it was hungry for food. As soon as I turned away to grab a bag of carrots from my white spring jacket, the little black rabbit had disappeared in thin air.

Strangely, I saw a small black notebook in front of my feet, where the rabbit was once sitting; I picked it up and looked in amazement, yet I was fearful of what I had found. The front cover of the book had a sketched picture of a black rabbit with glowing red eyes and an interesting title in gold letters: The Lucky Book. The wrinkled old pages of the notebook were purely black as coal with strange red writing on each of them.

Accompanying the strange black notebook is a fancy silver pen with a blood red diamond, which was designed to look like a four-leaf clover. This fancy pen uses bright red ink, which visually appears to be fresh blood in the eyes of a frightened young gentleman. I took out the silver pen and I turned to the ninth page, which had four interesting questions written in bold gold lettering.

The first question in the notebook asked what was my birthdate, which was Sunday, September 29, 1991. Then the second and third questions asked about my favorite color and my favorite sport, which was basketball and sky blue. Lastly, the final question asked about my favorite alcoholic beverage, which is Guinness Irish Beer.

Once I had written the answers on the ninth page, then I turned to the tenth page, where I saw the following information: "Magic Raptors Fight With Hawks, On The Line, 3 by 6, Win by 9." After this, I close the book and went back inside the house. Marching upstairs, I left the black book in my bedroom office, where I put it in a hidden drawer of my glass desk.

I took a public transit bus to the local bar called the Last Chance Bar and Grill, where I play a lottery game called Power Play. Remembering the information from the book, I picked 3 games in the basketball category to win by 6 points. Then I ordered a delicious porterhouse steak dinner and watched 3 basketball games with the Toronto Raptors, Orlando Magic, and the Atlanta Hawks.

I ended up winning the Power Play Prize of $20,000, a feat that no one could achieve so easily as a few people would win the daily prize of $5000. My basketball teams won by 9 points in each game, as one of the Power Play rules stated that your chosen team must win by 6 points or more. After celebrating my victory with free drinks in the house, I came back home to find the black rabbit standing at the front door.

It bolted as soon as I approached it and it disappeared into the thick fog of Sherwood Park, where the bushes swayed. I went back inside to finish my office work and as I opened the drawer, the little black notebook was gone. In its place, an old-fashioned envelope was left with my name written in cursive writing; my curious nature was satisfied as I opened the envelope to find $20,000 in cash, all in $100 bills.

To this day, I was still baffled and left in amazement by the craziness that happened, but I never had a day like this ever again. I never saw the black rabbit in my neighborhood and the black notebook was never found. As I sorted out my paperwork and looked outside my bedroom window, I wondered to myself, "How did this happen?"

END

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Ryan Gordon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.