Petlife logo

The Biggest HeartBreak of All

Our most hopeless moments are those we face alone.

By M.K. Noelanie Published 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
The Biggest HeartBreak of All
Photo by Artem Maltsev on Unsplash

Heartbreak. The feeling of hopelessness. Of being lost and alone. The unbearable pain that seems to never go away. And when it finally becomes nothing more than a dull ache, every reminder of the past brings it all crashing back. Thats when you seek the reassurance of another. I always leaned on the reassurance of the friendliest, most knowing of presence. My furry companion, and most loyal supporter. My dog. The most loving creature, who never judges you for your ugly tears. Who looks at you with adoration when you feel betrayed and unloved.

By Jackson Simmer on Unsplash

Through every state of grief, his unwavering loyalty, and unconditional love holds steady. And you can tell. Just as he can tell when you need a big, wet kiss on your face to make you smile. No matter the circumstances, your dog will always make you feel warm inside. In his eyes, your precious, just like he is in yours.

Our most hopeless moments are those we face alone. When we lose something precious, our biggest desire is to grieve in solitude. But when we are spent, we rely on the strength of our most trusted allies to move forward. What better companion than a dog?

By Angel Luciano on Unsplash

They will show you in astonishing way just how much they care. They will sit and listen while you effortlessly open up and lay out your heart before them. Thats why losing your precious friend is the worst heartbreak.

Two years ago, my precious Okie, approaching his first birthday, got off his leash and ran. Not being home at the time, I wasn't aware of anything. before I could pull into my drive way, I saw my precious boy being hastily picked up off the road. He was not moving.

Okie was set down in the grass of my backyard. Stroking his soft head, I prayed though my tears he was just paralyzed from the shock. But he wasn't breathing. He had been thrown ten feet after being hit by a large, grey van. There was no way he survived.

By engin akyurt on Unsplash

In my grief, I didn't want to be with anyone. Just my Okie.

To this day, I feel that pain. And even though my memories of him are fading, I will always remember our first day together... And our last, while everything in-between blurs together.

He was my biggest heartbreak yet.

In Loving Memory Of Okie Baggy-Pants. You Are Loved And Missed.

dog
Like

About the Creator

M.K. Noelanie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.