Petlife logo

"The Awesome Day"

Broken Heart's Mended

By Lucinda CannonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
"The Awesome Day"
Photo by noelle on Unsplash

The very sad day our hearts' broke is March 7th, 2021 at 7:00 A.M. My Six year old sweet gorgeous grey Maine Coon Mix fur baby cat suffered for months with bladder block and kidney fail. After going to the vet getting a catheter, diapers and medicine he seemed OK in January. Then we had a snowstorm and when it started to melt on a nicer day in March we harnessed him and let him and beautiful orange cream Norwegian Forrest sister play outside in our front yard on their leashes. My husband suddenly noticed him licking the snow, pulling him away, but where the malicious neighbors whom also had 3 cats, so they had the litter to clean up their truck's oil leaks' on the pavement where it was parked. He told them repeatedly to clean that up. This was on Friday and we found out he was seriously poisoned that day and I called the Veterarian's office and found out the emergency Vet was out of town for the weekend and the Vet Doctor wouldn't be in his office until Monday morning.

Well, he couldn't hold nothing down, not water, not food and not even medicine. He would just projectile vomit everything up. He really went downhill throughout the weekend. We stayed up with him a lot of those two nights; I hated to see him suffering, I don't think I've cried so hard, I Prayed for his complete healing and even if it meant to just let go and go into the rainbow bridge. We tried Saturday night to give him more medicines and this time he didn't even throw anything up, he just went limp as if his organs in his little body were shutting down.

So my husband carried him up upstairs to be with us both, we placed really comfortable fleece blankets and his favorite pillow in a cat cage for his comfort care. I placed my hand on his pillow and his precious paw came to lay on it and he cried to me as if to say, "I'm sorry" and I kissed his sweet paw and told him that it's okay to just let go, to be happy and healed with no more suffering.

I fell asleep holding his paw in the cage. My husband woke me up at around 7 AM and said he's gone now. I cried a river of tears all over again so hard. Then his sweet sister whom he was born with was mourning and truly missed him, meowing and meowing. After about two or three weeks, she was just sad and lonley and said to us, she's ready for another companion. We searched high and low, even physically driving all over different towns and all over the internet for another good companion that was just right for her. We knew we needed another male and somewhat younger.

Every time we texted or called people with kittens it was way too late and they were already gone, because some people on Craig's list forget to take their posts down.

So after four painstaking months on July 7th, 2021 I finally found some cute auto shop/ barn rescue kittens for sale and my husband went and acquired the cutest 9 week old, orange cream/ Ginger Bengle kitten just like the bereft sister. Oh she hissed the first time just like all other cats do upon the first meeting; but it only took about a week or two and they warmed up real nicely, they sleep together, they eat together they are now inseparable. She always cleans him like a good adopted sister/mama. He also has my favorite color of eyes, they really look like sunflowers in the sun; both orange and some yellow gold around the iris. He is also very smart and listens so well whenever scolded. So he Doesn't need to be anymore.

And that's definitely the awesome day all of our broken hearts were mended. We all love him so much.

adoption
Like

About the Creator

Lucinda Cannon

Start writing...I am an inspired, self taught journalist. I loved writing essays in English class, and would get great grades on them and cudos from my English teachers'. I love to write eccentric stories that captures the readers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.