Petlife logo

THE ATTACK OF THE BEAVER AT THE LAKE

THE BEAVER FLIPPED HIS TAIL AT ME

By rose m lewisPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
2
THE BEAVER WAS PROTECTING HIS HOME; AFTER READING THE STORY THERE IS A RECIPE I USE ALL THE TIME

It was the beginning of summer and we decided to go to Nancy Lake and fish for Rainbow Trout and Pike. I called my daughter on the phone I asked her if she wanted to come. She said yes, I told her we would leave the next day. As I was getting ready I noticed that we did not have enough bait. So I called my husband to pick some up. He told me he would get some worms and not to worry. I do worry a little bit because if we forget something there is no way we can get the item. Well, I would get everything we needed. All my husband has to do is put the gear into the car. In the meantime, my daughter is getting her things together. My husband came home and we had dinner then he put some things in the car. I asked him if he had gotten the bate. He said he did and I said besides the worms did you get the eggs. He told me he did I said to him great! The next morning we ate breakfast and then finished putting everything in the car. I called my daughter and told her we will be picking her up. When we arrived at her home she came to the car and put her things in the car. My husband drove to the highway and he had to drive about an hour to Nancy Lake campground.

I was talking with my daughter when all of a sudden a Moose ran across the highway. The Moose was big and in a hurry, good thing my husband was not going fast. We finally pulled into the long dirt road going into Nancy Lake campground. Then suddenly we see a Black Bear cross the road, I told my husband what else is going to cross the road? He said Maybe a dog or cat I said that could happen. I and my daughter laughed at that and continued our conversation. We finally came to the campground, my husband found a nice campsite near the lake. He Parked the car and we got out of the car and proceeded to set up the camp. We put the tents up and the tarp, my husband put a tarp on each tent in case it rained. the fire was made and the coffee on the grill to perk. We sat and talked and had a good time.

Finally, the coffee was ready and we drank a great cup of coffee. It was getting late so we all went to the tent to go to sleep. Sleep came easily for me and I woke up to the smell of coffee brewing. My daughter made the fire and coffee was on the grill. I told her I appreciate her putting the coffee on the grill. She came and hugged me and I hugged her back. The coffee was ready so we sat down and had some. We drank the first cup of the day, then we cooked breakfast the bacon and eggs tasted great. I and my husband set up the fishing poles, he put the hooks and bait on my pole. Then we walked to the shore and he pushed my boat into the water. I took the paddles and rowed to the edge of the shoreline. Rainbows will swim there because the water is shallow and calm. I cast my line into the water and waited to see if I would catch a fish. I did not even get a bite, but I kept on trying. I stayed fishing there for a while then I rowed to deeper water.

I was rowing until I came across a Beaver Dam, it was big! I looked to see if I can find any fish but I saw only sticks under the water. I was looking for fish but what I got was a whole lot more! Suddenly came a Beaver he saw me and the Beaver was not happy. He turned around he lifted up his tail and made a big splash! This Beaver wanted me out of there, I was an intruder and invading his home. He did that several times and then he came charging to my boat and almost flipped it. I got really scared, I took the paddles and started rowing to shore. The Beaver was still chasing me I took the paddle and splashed it in the water. That only made the Beaver madder so I kept rowing to shore. I was close enough to hear my daughter yelling at me. She saw the Beaver chasing me and she kept on yelling. The Beaver decided he had enough and swam toward his home! When I got to the shore my daughter helped me to get out of the boat.

My nerves were shot from the incident with the Beaver. I needed to go to camp and relax and have a cup of coffee. We took the boat out of the water and walked the short distance to the campsite. I poured myself a cup of coffee and sat down to drink it. Then I told my daughter all about the Beaver. I said to her if the Beaver tipped the boat over I would be all wet and cold. The water is cold and I could have gotten hyperthermia! My daughter told me she knew and that is why she yelled. While I was drinking my coffee my husband came and I told him what happened. His mouth flew opened and he looked at me funny! He said really then I told him all about the Beaver. My daughter conferred it! She said Mom did get chased by the Beaver. He said the Beaver did that, Wow I am glad your safe! But a little while later I thought about it and started laughing! We all had a good laugh but I told them the outcome was good!

I asked my husband if he was hungry he said yes. My daughter and I cooked dinner over the fire. We used this recipe; When cooking fish in the pan I use a 1/4 cup of liquid the liquid could be any Beer or Lemon and Lime Soda, a little salt and black pepper. Small onion cut up and a clove of garlic. Cook the fish for 5 to 7 minutes then turn the fish and cook it another 5 to 7 minutes.

Peel 4 to 5 medium Potatoes. 1 small Onion, Salt, Black Pepper. with Aluminum Foil put the Potatoes in 4 different pouches, and butter on top of the potatoes and ceil the tin foil up and put them on the fire to cook, for about 15 minutes.

To cook Corn On The Cob: Leave the stalks on the Corn and put the corn on the grill to cook. The corn will make its own juices and it will taste great! Turn the Corn every so often until the corn is cooked. When done let the corn cool a little and then take the stalks off the corn. If you want put butter on the corn and salt.

I have used these recipes for a long time and I hope you will try them,

wild animals
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.