Petlife logo

The Amazing Story of Ginny the Elephant (Warning - Get Kleenex!)

Once upon a time, I took my group of animal communication students to the San Antonio Zoo.

By Rahau MihaiPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like

They were told to go out and locate animal instructors to try speaking with for approximately an hour. Then we were all supposed to meet in the elephant enclosure because there was a particular elephant called Ginny there that I wanted to introduce them to. I also wanted to share Ginny's elephant tale with them.

They'd figured out how to connect and start a dialogue. Some of the kids, like myself, who are very sensitive and empathetic, were concerned.

What if the animal's backstory was tragic? What if they were in pain, furious, bereaved, or sad...? And what if their pain was too much for them to bear?

Ouch.

I could understand their anxieties. I've felt emotions and had students tell me they were reluctant to deal with rescued, mistreated, or ill animals in transition... for the same reasons.

But here's the catch...

Whatever is going on or has occurred to the animal is part of their tale. What they need is the capacity to communicate and be heard in order to heal and let go.

When you create a communication line, it is not your responsibility to take on their baggage.

Your goal is to help them understand, to experience compassionate, loving attention, to create a heart-centered space for listening and caring, and THAT is a priceless gift.

Many times, unexpected beneficial changes occur, and right before your eyes (if done correctly), you may witness them become more completely present, heal, mature, breathe a large sigh of relief, and let the past go.

It's a miracle to see, and it's joyful beyond words.

So, with Kleenex in their wallets, hearts open and ready, and a loving and clear purpose, they headed forth!

When we subsequently gathered back at the elephant enclosure, they were overjoyed with their experiences. Some animals disregarded them because they were too lost in their own world and didn't want to speak to a human.

Other creatures were ecstatic and thrilled that they had been heard.

They made statements like, "Did you just say something? Can you hear me, you thick human? That can't be true... I used to believe that people were too ignorant to converse. Seriously, you're speaking to ME? And you can hear me as well? OMG! Let me go gather my friends!"

And other animals would rush up to see the marvel of a human who could hear and speak their language.

What a blast!! And what about the tales they told? Oh my.

Heartwarming! Inspirational! Touching! Wow.

I have another tale to share you today.

A zoo docent had summoned me a few weeks before to assist them with one of their elephants.

Ginny, the 50-year-old matriarch of the zoo's tiny elephant herd, had murdered their top handler.

There were no witnesses since no one else was there when it occurred. Only signs of bloodshed remained.

They put her in shackles, in a metal cage barely large enough for her body, when I arrived. She was disappointed yet proud, shy and aloof. Resigned and awaiting the outcome of her destiny.

The handlers and management had not determined whether or not to murder her.

What had caused her to go rogue?

Was she a threat?

Would she do harm to anybody else?

What occurred to cause her to murder that man?

They wanted me to speak to her and find out what occurred before they determined what to do with her.

So I came in to see everyone gathered in a circle waiting for me. I welcomed them, sat, and took my seat.

I just had a few moments to welcome Ginny, whom I'd never met before, and assure her that my purpose was to be her voice, and that I really cared about what happened to her.

They didn't offer me any more information than you already know, so I closed my eyes and asked Ginny to tell me what occurred.

She said that the guy was often abusive to her and her family. He hadn't been there long, yet he was loathed and disliked. That he often came up smelling of booze and behaved erratically and unexpectedly.

She'd had enough on that fateful day. He'd been causing them pain and terror for far too long.

It was her responsibility as matriarch to defend her family, so she took the difficult choice and acted.

She just reached out and grabbed him about the waist, pulled him up and held him high, flipped him upside down, and bashed his head onto the ground hard enough to split his skull open.

That was the end of it.

She exhaled heavily, and I thanked her for informing me.

I told the audience about her tale.

They were crying while they listened, and then they glanced at each other.

They informed me that he was aggressive and often inebriated. He was disliked by everyone. Nobody lamented his death.

They wanted to know Ginny's intentions regarding the rest of them... would she harm them if they let her go?

Ginny said when I inquired, "No, you are all kind and generous people. I wish no damage to you. All I want is for my family to be secure and respected."

They quickly unlocked her shackles, opened the cage, and let her go free after a few more confirmations from her that they were really safe.

We were all in tears as she reached out with a light touch of her trunk to thank those closest to her.

The expression in her eyes... I honestly cry just remembering it.

As a result, she remained the herd's matriarch. She had never harmed anybody else.

That leads us back to the beginning... I was there with my students at the Zoo only a few weeks afterwards.

We had all arranged to meet in the elephant enclosure once the pupils concluded their discussions with the animals.

We were seated on a bench in the shade at the far end of the enclosure. We chit-chatted about our remarkable encounters.

Then I saw Ginny at the far end of the cage, far away from us.

She had been dining alone, well away from the people.

But then she became completely motionless... and stopped eating.

She raised her head and stared at us across the cage, her ears perked up with eagerness.

She then reached down and grabbed a massive mound of hay in her trunk, which she hauled all the way over...

And then she came to a complete halt right in front of us!

She dropped the hay and started chewing as she faced us.

She greeted us warmly and welcomed us into her house. Many of our queries were addressed by her, and the pupils were pleased to hear her wonderful, gentle voice.

Suddenly, one of the elephant handlers came sprinting up to us, alarmed.

They said, "What exactly are you doing to that elephant? She never pays attention to the tourists or zoo goers. Why is she so taken with you?"

So we gave her the narrative, and the moment she realized who I was, she wanted to shake my hand and embrace me. With tears in her eyes, she thanked me profusely for saving Ginny's life.

That is why I do the job that I do.

It does make a difference.

And it is for this reason that I created The Heart School of Animal Communication. That's why I run the BEST Online Animal Talk Coaching & Mastery Club and educate animal lovers how to interact with animals.

The good news is that, unlike my first small group of animal speak pupils, you do not need to be physically there with me.

The Animal Talk Coaching Club and the Heart School courses are all available online. This allows you to participate from wherever you are.

Begin your path to animal communication with your free eBook:

Seriously, if you want to be able to communicate with animals, improve your communication, healing, and intuitive talents, and are searching for in-depth, personal training so you can make a difference, this is the place to be.

How does the Animal Talk Coaching & Mastery Club work?

Simply said, it's a comprehensive, one-of-a-kind web platform where you'll find all you need to develop your intuitive talents and enhance and progress your communication skills.

So you may assist animals when they are ill, confused, have something vital to tell you, or are ready to make their passage.

A confidential, caring, one-of-a-kind community of individuals just like you dedicated to developing, healing, and changing via the power of Heart Wisdom Communication.

If you're serious about increasing your intuition, healing abilities, and communication skills, The BEST Online Animal Talk Coaching & Mastery Club is THE place to be.

Source of the article: http://EzineArticles.com/10412579

wild animals
Like

About the Creator

Rahau Mihai

Hi! Come to my profile and you will see really useful things or something to relax you !

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.