Petlife logo

The Adventures of Argos

Warning: Many Dog Photos Ahead

By Shelby LarsenPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
Photo Credit: Emily Haney Photography

Dear website thing Momma spends too much time on,

My momma has told me all about this weird online thing that she writes on. I don't really get the point. I would prefer to knock her phone out of her hands so she can pet me and play fetch... but I heard that there's a new challenge about your canine companions, and I like when things are about me.

A little about me: I'll be a year old soon. I've got lots of different breeds in me, but I'm mostly Australian Cattle Dog and Border Collie. I don't really care about that, but mom and dad swabbed my mouth and sent my saliva off to be tested, and they don't stop talking about it to people they meet, so I guess it must be important. My favorite thing to do is play fetch. I also love tug, and I love walking all over the furniture and my parents and anyone who sits down in our home. I sleep in between mom and dad every night. Sometimes they squish me, but I just hit them with my paws and spread out as big as I can get!

Cuddles with Mom

When I first came to my mom and dad, they weren't planning on getting a dog yet - and definitely not a puppy! But boy did I change their minds. I was really quiet and chill at the start - just to make sure they'd want to keep me. Once they gave me a name, and tags, I knew I was safe, so I let my whole personality show through! Mom calls me hyper, but my body is just too small to contain my excitement.

Mom works from home, so I get to spend ALL DAY with her. Sometimes, when she gets sad or stressed, she lays down next to me in the office, and I get lots of extra belly rubs. I give her kisses in return. Sometimes I check on her by putting my paws up on her chair or jumping into her lap.

Dad works far away, and so he's home for a while, and then he leaves again. I get scared when he leaves because I never know how long he'll be gone. But when he comes back, I get so excited! I get double the pets and kisses when Dad is home!

Snuggles with Dad

When dad isn't home, I become the man of the house, so I protect mom. I protect mom from everything: the garbage truck, delivery drivers, the deer that come into our yard, big sticks, and the neighbors! At night, I stay alert while she gets ready for bed. Sometimes I hear something and growl at it, just to make sure it won't hurt her. Even when dad's home I do some protecting. Sometimes mom and dad will be playing, and I'll growl at dad to keep him in line.

Sometimes both mom and dad leave at the same time. I've chewed up a few things before (rugs and shoes are my favorite), so I get locked in the bathroom when they're not home. They trick me into going in there with a treat or my dinner. They leave me with toys, but I usually just lay down and nap until they come home, and then when they let me out I practice my parkour!

We have visitors every once and a while, but my favorite is Uncle Alex. He comes over the most - especially when dad is out of town. He can throw my frisbee REALLY far, and when I get the zoomies, he runs around with me! Sometimes we wrestle. When Uncle Alex is over, I don't pay attention to mom - he's just that cool. I'll bring him all my toys until he throws them for me, and I'll walk all over him if he ignores me for a minute, but I always get pets. Sometimes mom will make me lay down, so they can play games on the TV, so I'll just lay next to Uncle Alex, wag my tail, and wait patiently for pets.

Naps with Uncle Alex

My best friend is named Orrin. He was one of the first dogs I met outside of my siblings! He was my neighbor when I joined my family. I love playing with Orrin - even though he's faster and bigger than me. Sometimes I can outsmart him though! I might be a little in love with Orrin's mom. She helped take care of me a couple of times, and she's so sweet to me and gives me extra pets! One time I stole her sandwich and she didn't even get mad! Mom did though... Orrin and his mom moved away, but when I do get to see them - those are the best days!

Orrin and I watching TV

My second best friend is Bear! He lives with my grandparents. I don't think he likes me very much, but I keep trying! Some day I think we'll be best buds! I love going to Gammi and Pappi's house not just to see Bear, but to run and play. Gammi gives me lots of love, and Pappi plays lots and lots of fetch with me! They have STAIRS in their house. I was afraid of them at first, but now I realize how much fun they are! Sometimes I run up and down the stairs and around the whole house.

Bear and I laying next to Mom

I can also do lots of tricks! Sometimes I get too excited and start doing the wrong tricks, but that makes momma laugh. I can sit, lay down, stand up, shake, high five, guard, and a few others! Momma is so proud when I play dead! I love making my parents proud.

When I'm all grown up, I want to be an emotional support animal. You see, momma struggles with anxiety, and I love helping her feel better. Her and dad do so much for me, I just want to return the favor.

Anyways, thank you for listening to me talk about myself. I know I'm the most important person in my home, but I also want others to know how amazing I am! (And my parents too…) Momma tells me I'm the goodest and prettiest boy all the time!

As I spend more time with my parents, and continue to grow up, I hope mom will let me share more adventures with everyone! We have so much to do yet!

Don't forget to give your canine friends a treat, and please like this story for my momma - she deserves it.

All the Pets,

Argos

dog
1

About the Creator

Shelby Larsen

Warning: I love messing with your favorite fairy tales.

I've loved writing most of my life. In college I made it my passion, but once I reached the "real" world, I stopped. I'm here to find my creativity and get back to my passion.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.