Petlife logo

The Adoption of my 3 Kitties

How I got my fur babies

By Spirit Guide Communication through the Art of DivinationPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Luna

I have always adopted my kitties from the Humane Society or as strays off the street. I cannot think of a sadder way for a kitty to live than to be neglected on the street or in the humane society.

My first kitty that I rescued was named Luna. Luna is a boy but because of his story as you will see, a little girl got to name it.

About 20 years ago, my son and I went to a party and there was a kitty that kept coming from across the road. We went out to pet it and it was very loving but very thin and I felt sick. It then it disappeared. I was told that it was the neighbors, but that they never treated him very well.

I was outside when I saw the older man take the cat and kick him into the middle of the road. He hit a car coming down the street. I jumped up and called 911 and grabbed the kitty and took him to the vet. He was a little damaged but overall, he was ok. We had left the party in such a rush that I did not get to talk to the police. I just wanted the kitty with me and safe.

I went back to the party to get some things and the kids asked to call him Luna after Sailor Moon’s Kitty so I agreed.

When I later spoke to the police, they found that the kitty was not the only thing the old couple was abusing. They had had their grandchildren in a storage shed outback and starved them. The police found them when they were talking to everyone about Luna. They began to walk around and heard something in the building. They thought it was more animals, but they were shocked to learn that it was their grandchildren that had been left for them to care for. It was summer and very hot and even more hot in a metal building. I just could not imagine being those children.

I followed the newspaper but not much was provided but I always felt like my Luna was hurt for them to find the children in the building. Luna lived for 18 more years until he died of failed kidneys. He passed on my birthday 5 years ago.

Before, Luna passed we adopted a kitty for him to have fun with, but Luna was too old to play so we looked for a calm kitty. I went to the human society and saw this one baby cat crying and trying to get out of this kid’s arms. He was scared and crying so I followed the child and looked at where he placed the kitty. I then got on the floor and coaxed him to me, but he would not come but he was shaking so I picked him up and he buried his head into my arm. I asked the lady how old he was, and they said he was only 2 months old, but he was bigger than most. He already weighed 6 pounds. This is him when we adopted him.

Stan

We noticed that he would not let us pet him, would not let us pick him up without distress, and would only lie next to Luna. He was very patient with him but did not like to be touched. I did some research after a friend mentioned that there was a lady about 2 hours from us that bred cats with wild cats in the area and with domesticated black cats to make a breed that was very rare. I spoke to the vet and she said he was probably one of these cats. I then began to research more. I came up with the lady who created Bombay kitties in the 1950’s but these cats were very friendly and only got up to 15 or 18 pounds. So, we know that this isn’t his lineage.

After asking around, we were told that Stan as the humane society called him, was dropped off as the “runt” of the liter. He is now 25 pounds and has so many characteristics of a panther. His from legs are turned a little and his paws are big as my palms, he pounces like many cats who are hunters and has the golden eyes of a panther. The vet said that there were many cats that was continued to be bred to try and make the cats look and have characteristics of a panther .. not just being a black cat. He is wild but is very gentle with the new kitty we adopted but he is very strong and muscular. His build is very defined and very much like a true panther. We are familiar with panthers or also known as cougars or mountain lions, as they are natural to areas near us.

Once Luna passed, we got Stan a kitty to play with from the humane society. This kitty was very playful and very destructive. We thought he might help Stan become more playful, but he won’t play rough when playing but it’s a mess when they start fighting.

The first day this kitty was home he destroyed curtains, knocked things off the tables and ran wild. So, we did what was natural and named him Lucifur. Lucifur is now 3 years old and is only 8 pounds. He is very loving but drives Stan crazy.

So, we always adopt or save kitties. I have my whole life. A kitty that has been abandoned or left in a cage is one that will love you forever and you love them the way that they can accept love. And sometimes they even save you or others.

adoption
Like

About the Creator

Spirit Guide Communication through the Art of Divination

Welcome to Spirit Guide Communication through the Art of Divination where you will read about spirit guides, meditation, divination, and more

Learn more about me here https://yourcosmicconnections.com/pages/bertena-varney

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.