Petlife logo

That was nuts

wanna help me find my nuts

By stephanie borgesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Meet my squirrel friend "Nutcase" I'm not joking; that's the name I gave him. This little comes every morning for nuts. I only give him a few because if I give him a lot, he leaves them, and other squirrels will go and fight over the scraps, and they are running around the backyard, causing havoc. They climb on the backyard furniture, the plants, not to mention the trash cans for cans and bottles for recycling—all the while making that chattery sound and the little craws on the pavement. You can put some background music to make it comical.

It took me an hour to try not to spook this little from running away; I counted how many times I have wanted to get a picture of him and failed. Can you guess the number? About ten times and seven days. Then finally, I was successful. I was standing perfectly still at the window. Everything was going great until my damn cat bumps my arm, demanding to be petted while I was getting ready to snap the picture, that's why you can't see his feet, But at least you can see how cute this little guy is. The squirrel loves Almonds, peanuts, and honey-roasted sunflower seeds.

Photo by Maddi Bazzocco on Unsplash

When "Nutcase" is nibbling on the nuts, he eats as if he didn't have a care in the world. Not even my cats looking at him doesn't bother him. Rather he wags his tail. We all know that when a dog wags its tail, it is happy; when a cat wags its tail, it is telling you it is irritated. But when a squirrel wags its tail, it is a warning to other squirrels that there is danger and to let the predator that they see them and their element of surprise failed. Well, "Nutcase" is saying it loud and clear. Yes, I'm serious and No!!! I'm not joking. This damn squirrel has no fear, and I have proof that here is a video I recorded of the squirrel annoying my cats. You could say this rodent likes to "hang around" he climbs up and down on the screendoor wagging his tail, and what is my cat Anakin does is he jumps at the squirrel, desperately trying to get the squirrel to make it into a snack.

You would think the squirrel would get the message that there is a cat on the other side of the glass door, and it should leave the premises. But hell no, This squirrel either has a death wish or was just bored out of his mind.

If you thought the story ended there, guess again. Another squirrel shows up to get some nuts, "Nutcase" wags his tail at the other squirrel, and the squirrel wags its tail to let Nutcase know he is aware of my cat Anakin's presence. If there were a conversation between the squirrels, it would go like this.

Nutcase: Hey man, just a heads up, there is a cat behind this door.

Other Squirrel: Oh thanks, hey, why is that cat jumping up and down? Doesn't he realize you're on the opposite side, and he can't get you?

Nutcase: No, that's why I'm hanging on the screen door; this fool is one dumbass cat.

Ok, maybe the conversation won't be like that, but with a bit of imagination, who knows.

Yes, the squirrel is so cute, and I want to hug him like a squeaky toy. But they are wild animals, and to have one as a pet is against the law. So that is why I leave him nuts outside, he eats every single one, then leaves, but it's annoying when the squirrel comes back wanting more nuts; if I don't give him any, he sticks around and starts to make that chirping sound.

I'm pretty sure I know what he is saying.

"Hey, can I get some more nuts? That other squirrel took my nuts. C’mon, sharing is caring!!”

wild animals
Like

About the Creator

stephanie borges

I've been writing off and on for years; I write short stories, scripts, and blogs. I can't think of anything more relaxing than writing. I also do graphic design.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.