Petlife logo

Taking Your Pet Everywhere Just Got a Whole Lot Easier, Here’s How

Using the Halo Collar to lead a life where your pup is never left behind

By Jessie ReardonPublished 2 years ago 6 min read

Supported ByHalo Collar

Top Story - March 2022
16

My entire childhood, I never left home without my favorite stuffed animal, a golden retriever from Build-a-Bear. I would take the stuffed animal everywhere you can imagine, from the mall to the zoo to family reunions and on long road trips.

Of course, this love of golden retrievers led me to get my own when I grew up - a sweet golden retriever pup named Millie. As you can imagine, I want to take her everywhere, just like I took my stuffed animal everywhere growing up. This has brought so many amazing times of making great memories and bonding with her and realizing that the most memorable times are spent with those we love. However, it has led to some stressful times as well. Times where I have been worried for safety in a new place or wondered if she would adjust well to being at a place other than at home. I have always been passionate about training dogs and trained all of my family's dogs growing up, but as I have gotten older and learned more, I realized there was a lot more to teach a dog than just a few helpful commands or cute tricks. Truly, a well-trained dog is a much safer dog. A well-trained dog can enjoy all the adventures and trips and being out and about because there is a level of trust between owner and dog that allows for such freedoms.

A recent tool we found out about for such training is called a Halo Collar, created by famous dog trainer, Cesar Millan. This collar has incredible technology and includes a variety of uses that will allow dog and owner to bond and understand one another on a deeper level. Although I haven't had it for too long, I have begun the 21-day training plan that comes with it and already see so many ways that this collar can potentially help Millie and I in all of our training! I will outline some of the collar’s features and uses below!

1. GPS

I know so many people who have had their beloved pets go missing, sometimes never to be found. The GPS feature allows for the collar to be tracked via the app, so there is never a question of where your pet might be! I can see this being so helpful on off-leash hikes and camping adventures.

2. Halo Fences

These are created on the app and are fully enclosed virtual safe areas of where you will allow your dog to go. You can make a fence in your backyard, front yard, friend’s yard; the beauty of this feature is that you can really make a fence in any yard or area. Plus, you can make up to 20 fences at a time.

If your dog tries to cross the fence line, it sends instantaneous feedback, letting your pup know this is not a safe zone. This is the perfect feature for anyone with a yard that isn't fully fenced in or with a wood fence that is not reliable. You can create a Halo Fence in the exact places in your yard that you want your dog to go. Again, this is another fantastic feature for dogs who may like to wander or dogs who get distracted by animals, people, and vehicles that go past the yard and house and tempt them to pursue!

3. Indoor Halo Fences

This is the perfect feature for those of us who have rooms and areas in our house that we prefer to be off limits for our dogs. For example: I really don't want Millie behind my island in the kitchen because it is a dangerous place with a hot oven, boiling water, and me carrying knives while chopping veggies for my next meal. This is where an indoor Halo Fence can come into play. I will create a boundary so that she isn't tempted to go past the fence and into the kitchen. If she tries to, her collar will give her feedback reminding her that it isn't a safe place to be.

Plus, Halo Beacons offer yet another way for me to ensure my pup stays away from specific dangerous areas; helping to avoid problematic situations. At first I used the bluetooth-enabled Halo Beacons to train Millie, but once she got the hang of The Halo Collar’s tech, I just used them sparingly both at home and on-the-go. They give me more flexibility wherever I go, allowing me to place a Halo Beacon anywhere, like dangerous areas in my yard, on a crib at a friend’s house, or even in a room I don’t want her to go in. I use them to create portable safe-zones by switching the Beacon setting from “Keep Away” to “Ignore Fences,” allowing me to fully customize my pup’s boundaries depending on whether I want the Beacon to emit feedback in that area (using the Keep Away feature) or not (using the Ignore Fences feature). I can even customize the range of each Beacon, decide when I want to receive notifications, and mute any Beacon using the Halo App.

4. 21 Days of Training

I don't know about you, but training can be a little overwhelming and a little difficult at times, especially without the guidance of a professional. I love that the Halo Collar comes with 21 days of training - all led by Cesar Millan. There are videos where he walks you through the process of using the Halo Collar and working with your dog. A tool can only work well if we train our dogs well with it and we ourselves know how to use it. These 21 days of training are meant to provide info for the owner and dog and allow the Halo Collar to be the most effective tool it can be.

5. Step-by-Step Instructions

The Halo Collar comes with step-by-step instructions for setting it up, using the charger, setting up the app, and setting up your fences! If anyone else is like me and a little bit intimidated by technology sometimes, this is the perfect system for using technology and making sure it is used correctly. I loved being able to see visuals of every step I was supposed to follow and then easily follow through to set everything exactly as I hoped!

I'm so thankful for technology that allows for a closer bond with our dogs - a way to teach and train them in a way that leads to feeling confident in taking them on every adventure, whether that be in the backyard, at a local brewery, a hike, or a huge road trip where every night is spent in a different place.

The me from my childhood would be absolutely thrilled to know that I still travel and go to all the fun activities that I went to as a kid - but instead of pulling my stuffed animal from Build-a-Bear out of the car when I reach my destinations, I am able to look in the car, open the door, and know that my real life golden retriever and best friend is in there and about to join me in making special memories I will treasure forever!

product review
16

About the Creator

Jessie Reardon

Sharing life with my golden retriever best friend

https://www.instagram.com/millieandmeeko/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.