Petlife logo

Sweet Creature

you bring me home

By Pallavi JunejaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2

I remember when I first met you.

I had come over to surprise your mama in an act of love. And you were there because you were always there. Looking back, I realize that meeting you was even more important than meeting her parents. Because you are her heart externalized. We both understood: if I can love you, then she knows that I can love her.

When I asked your mama to move to North Carolina with me, she didn't even hesitate to say yes. And of course she brought you along because she always brings you everywhere. I thought you might keep her away from me -- with your demands for rubs and walks -- but you actually brought her closer. Because you are her heart externalized. We both understood: if she can love you, then I know that she can love me, too.

You came along as a piece of her home. You hold memories that she would otherwise forget -- like learning guitar in her room late at night, serenading you to sleep. I know that you like to sleep, but you let her feel that she played a role in you slumber. I love listening to your mama tell these stories. I'm grateful that you kept her safe.

In turn, you are what defines our home now. You are the living and breathing and wagging bridge between two separate souls that crave being one; you are our heart externalized.

I remember, when I lived in my apartment, the games of hide-and-seek that we would play with you.

We would bring you outside before bed. On our way back, we had to turn a corner in order to get my apartment door. Sometimes, we hid behind the corner while you trotted ahead. But every time, you noticed that we were gone. We could here the click-clack of your paws stop. We could imagine you turning around. We would giggle, knowing that we could never leave you. Eventually, we couldn't take it any longer -- we would peer around the corner to catch a glimpse at your concern.

You'd be walking back towards us slowly, ears perked up and head tilted slightly, wondering if -- no, knowing that -- we were just out of sight.

When you found us, your whole face would change. Your ears would drop and your head would re-center; you smiled. We smiled. You wagged and we laughed. We shouted in ecstasy because you found us. We loved when you would find us. It felt so sweet to be found by a creature so sweet.

Now, we know that you need us not to hide because even a moment apart is too much. We trot alongside you, never ahead and never behind.

We will place you in the mountains and on the beach and in all of your favorite days. We want to bring you everywhere. Because you are our heart externalized. If we can hide you cradled in the arms of Mother Nature, then we know that we can seek you there again.

Don't worry: your mama is learning a new song for you so that she can sing you to sleep. As much as you love slumber, we know that you would rather drift off wrapped in her voice. She wants to keep you safe.

I can't bear the thought of you wondering where we have gone. And I don't want to wonder where you have gone either. Perhaps hide-and-seek was a cruel game to play all along. But it always ended in glee. This will always end in glee, my sweet creature.

dog
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.