Petlife logo

Staircase Cat

The cat that spends all his time sitting at the top of the staircase, so we all trip and fall down the stairs.

By Burnt BaguettesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

He for one is not a wild animal, but a domestic housecat, who spends all his time laying down and eating.

That’s why he is a little on the chubby side, but he is still beautiful in his way.

His name is Rex and he has a twin brother and an older brother.

His twin’s name is Prance and he is also on the chubby side.

And his older brother is a dog, but he doesn’t notice the difference, despite my dog being a lot bigger than him.

Anyway, since my cats aren’t allowed outside, Rex likes to sit at the top of the staircase looking out the landing windows.

This wouldn’t be a problem if he didn’t have one thousand other places to sit in the house.

He has a cat tree that he shares with his brother, but no, he loves that spot on the top of the staircase more than anything.

There is a giant rug in the living room that has enough room on it for all of my animals, but he still sits on the top of the staircase.

He can even sleep on my bed, but he sleeps right outside my door on the top of the staircase.

Getting the perfect picture is very hard.

Even though all he does is sit in the same place all day every day.

It takes angles, precision and so much more.

If you go too close to him, you could wake him up and he will give you the death stare, you know, all cats have that look.

Or just mine, because they hate when you go into their personal space.

Although it is my bedroom and he is the one intruding.

He will get mad at you.

Another reason why it is hard is, he moves so much in his sleep.

Like he will start near the top of the staircase, but end up rolling so much he will be halfway down the stairs by the time he wakes up.

So you must be quiet and sneak by him, then hopefully he won’t move.

Then there’s the last problem.

The lighting.

He usually sits there at night, so you can’t turn on the light or he will get mad at you.

So you have to do it right as the sun is coming down or early in the morning when it is about to come up.

And you might have the scare or danger of him biting your fingers or hands.

It doesn’t hurt, like at all, but you have to put on an act, so he thinks it hurts and his cat ego isn’t shattered.

Surprisingly at the moment, he is not sitting on the top of the staircase, which is a bit strange.

That’s basically how I got the shot.

I just stand on the stairwell and get the shot by zooming in on my phone.

Nothing really special.

I mean walking up eight stairs is kind of hard (I wish this was sarcasm).

I didn’t swim to the deepest depths of the ocean or climb the highest mountain to get the picture.

I walked out of my room and tried not to trip over him and I walked down eight stairs.

And my cat would either follow me or just sit there and look at me like I’m crazy.

For this photo, I got the eyes half-closed and the red nose, in very nice lighting.

It was around seven in the morning, so not too early.

I think we all need a fat lazy alley cat that loves to sunbathe and make you trip at all hours of the day.

We love my beautiful cat.

cat
2

About the Creator

Burnt Baguettes

I like to write sad, dystopian lesbian love stories. That is all you really need in life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.