Petlife logo

Something That You Didn't Even Know Could Be Dangerous And Can Kill Your Pets

Because it killed my cat more than ten years ago, I am aware of it.

By xiamlauraPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

I received my first pet when I was eight years old. I discovered her playing with my shoelaces while standing in my backyard. She was a black cat with yellow eyes.

She was a somewhat irritable cat who would frequently yowl or growl at us if she didn't get her way immediately away. In addition, some of my classmates were afraid of her and the ill luck they believed she would bring, but I loved her very much.

She was one of my closest friends and fascinating to be around. If she had needed me to, I would have died for her.

Because of an overactive thyroid, she became skinnier as she aged. When I was an adult, I could feel her spine's bones protruding slightly whenever I held her. I used to occasionally run my fingertips along them.

I eventually had to leave my parents' home. Although I couldn't carry her with me to my new home, I frequently saw her.

I enjoyed rocking her like a baby. Every time I did this, she would kiss my neck.

When she was sixteen years old, around a year or so into this, my mother informed me I needed to take her to a groomer since she had some mats in her fur. Because my mother was afraid of both strangers and the ocean, I told her that I didn't think this was a smart idea. I advised her to take care of herself if she needed assistance. I was concerned about the strain this would put on her because she was elderly.

My mother, however, disregarded me and took her without my knowledge. She had some unpleasant news for me the following time I saw her.

My cat had expired.

My cat had experienced cardiac arrest because she had taken her to the groomers and she had become so terrified. They claimed to have attempted CPR on her. She passed away there on the table, whether or not that is true.

When my mother told me this, I yelled and cried uncontrollably. How could a simple bath and hair trim be enough to kill my cat? She had literally died from fear.

Before you assume that everything happened by accident or that my cat's age was the main factor, problems with groomers occur more frequently than you might anticipate. Many of them are inexperienced or have little prior knowledge of working with animals. They can gravely hurt or even kill your pet if they aren't properly trained because they utilize actual sharp equipment and restraints on animals.

Later, I also owned a dog, who eventually died of cancer. She would never have allowed me to trim her nails when she was alive, so I took her to a groomer to assist me. I went shopping while they were trimming her nails because it was at a pet shop.

Later, I saw them choking her with a restraint, and when I immediately paid them and took her to the car to get her away from them, her nails were gushing blood so profusely that it covered the entire back seat.

If I had been more concerned with getting home to obtain supplies to stop her bleeding, I would have gotten out of the car and yelled at them.

Additionally, I've spoken with other pet owners who have related tales of their dogs being choked so severely that the capillaries in their eyes burst or having razor nicks in their skin cause such a severe infection that they nearly died.

Pet grooming is essential. I advise utilizing them if necessary, but choosing the correct groomer is crucial to preventing incidents of this nature.

I have a few suggestions on how to distinguish between reputable groomers and unreliable ones:

1. Professional groomers are more likely to say hello to your dog and gush over how adorable they are than to act displeased with their work and the animals.

2. Professional pet groomers won't object if you stay and observe them working on your pet. If they strongly emphasize that you can't watch and that your pet would only become more agitated if you watch, then you should run really far away. They might not let you go into the back. Finally, I've found a good pet groomer, and once she requested that I stay and control one of my dogs while she clipped her nails. as the presence of an owner soothes canines. If they don't want you to witness them mistreating the animals, they will simply make compulsive attempts to scare you away.

3. Skilled groomers will possess this quality. Discover their history with animals by asking.

4. If your pet is elderly, like my cat was, or has never been to a groomer, avoid taking them. Going to the groomer is stressful for a pet, and if it's their first time, they are more likely to suffer a cardiac arrest. If you really must do this, take them to the vet first so they can be given sedatives to make them less frightened.

5. Look up reviews on Yelp. Reviews for good groomers will be more positive than for bad ones.

6. Believe on your instincts. When you first meet them, if they appear like folks who don't care about animals, just cancel your appointment and go. There is always someone else out there.

grooming
Like

About the Creator

xiamlaura

cool stories

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.