Petlife logo

So.b

TheDogThatRescuedMe

By Vonia MartinPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Who rescued who?

My life would be over if I didn't have this little dog to make it worth living. He has been a constant joy and inspiration in a life void of both. A long time ago I made the heart breaking decision not to have children. It seemed like the only responsible thing to do since I had no family. The idea of my child(ren) going to foster care if anything happened to me was enough to keep me from it. Well, here I still am with no kids or grandkids to look forward to. What else is there? Take it from someone who knows; nothing.

Without children what do we do all this for? All I got are; animals. After deciding not to procreate and running out of time to change my mind I need a reason to get out of bed in the morning. Other people's children don't need me but maybe the children that don't have families do need me.

Childless elderly lady wants to spend time with children that have no one?

Sounds kinda creepy to me. Plus, in todays climate it's hard to put myself out there even with the best intentions. Getting a dog might be the answer. It would allow me the oppertunity to see how responsible I am. If one can't raise a dog successfully how could one raise a kid? So I went to work and mentioned to a fellow employee that I was thinking about getting a Jack Russell. She about hit the floor she was so stunned because she had just literially found out that her Jack Russell was pregnant. We couldn't believe the timing and made arangements for me to pay her $25 a week for two months then he would be all paid for but not quite born yet.

He was born on July 17, 2009 and was the cutest one in the litter. The lady I bought him from, (I guess he wasn't a rescue dog) let me have first pick and I chose him, So.b. His name is short for son of a bitch but couldn't say that to any kids so I say it's So.b.it because we were meant to be. So.b is now eleven going on twelve this July and I can't imagine my life without him. He is slightly over weight but goes on walks with me daily sometimes twice. He likes to play tug of war and hide and go seek. The people that know him well swear he is the smartest dog they have ever met. I always tell people that he had me trained within seconds of bringing him home. Ever since I have been his door person, his water person, poop person, toy, play, walk, run, bone, belly rub, bathing, and care giver. It never stops the things I have to do for this dog!

What do I get in return? Let me tell you, I get to pick up countless piles of dog pooh. Oh yes what goes in must come out! lol Not funny when you swallow a whole sock like So.b did once. He couldn't go poop and ate a bunch of grass and threw that up. Gross! So took him to vet and they reconfirmed that he was indeed clogged with something. The vet said it would cost $1500 to unclog him and I didn't have that kind of money so I asked if I could have the night to think about it and they said yes so I took him home. No sooner did we get there that he jumped out of the car and very painfully passed an entire sock!!!! Yes a sock! He almost died trying to pass it and I did get the tongs out to help with the last part but(haha Butt) no pun intended, he did it all on his own. Thank goodness!

When I'm outside I like to have him with me off leash but he use to run up on people passing by. So as soon as some one was coming I would coral him into the back yard or in to the house. It got to the point that if some one was walking along he would start to bark but remember then go wait for me by the back gate or front door so I could open it so he could then go in and bark at them. He even does it with my car if I leave the door open to the car he'll jump in and bark at people going by from the car. It's really quite funny to see the look on people's faces when he does this. He is the most thoughtful dog and my only hope is that I think as much of him as he does me.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Vonia Martin

My childhood was spent in foster care. After aging out I moved to Colorado, where I still live. My IQ is 137 and I am a dyslexic ambidextrous that can write with both hands at the same time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.