Petlife logo

Should You Expose or Even Give Your Cat Essential Oils

Cat Essential Oils

By Aman Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

There is a lot of discrepancies in whether cats should be exposed to essential oils. Over the years I have pretty much done my own thing with my cats, researching everything first. But as you and I know, things change, ideas change and what was once good is bad and what was once bad is good.

Cats are not dogs, they are not people or any other animal in its ability to handle toxins, chemicals, aromas and more. They live on the floor and if we use a carpet cleaner, they are the ones that will suffer.

The difference in cats is the liver. Their liver does not contain the enzymes needed to breakdown certain chemicals effectively or occasionally at all. This process that cats lack is called glucuronidation, which is present in most mammals. What this means is that toxins build up in their systems.

When the body does not recognize something, especially chemicals or toxins they tend to hold on to it and work to identify it, trying to figure out what to do with it.

I once had a cat that used to get a lot of tumors and the veterinarian told me it had to do with something getting on or in him that he could not get rid of.

Some cats exposed to something will have an immediate reaction, but for most it will not happen right away. It can take years and in the beginning they will show very little clues that they are actually being poisoned.

I have always wished animals could just open their mouths and tell us what is wrong, but that is not what happens. This video below shows how cats can if allowed to, self medicate.

So you may wonder what we as responsible pet owners can do. Well one this is to educate yourself about the signs and symptoms of our cats being poisoned by toxins.

Signs and Symptoms include any of the following changes:

Sleeping patterns

Eating habits

Activity level

Mental status

Physical signs such as:

drooling

hyperactivity

diarrhea

constipation

pupils dilated when they should not be

vomiting

hair loss

So all of the above is to simply say that cats can have a toxic reaction to essential oils. This does not mean that you should not use them all, but some of them you should defiantly stay away from. You can only know which ones, by educating yourself.

There are groups of chemicals that we know cats do not metabolize or excrete well

Phenols – If the composition of the essential oil contains more than 8% phenol then do not give to your cat.

Wintergreen

Anise

Birch

Clove

Basil

Tarragon

Fennel

Oregano

Thyme

Peppermint

Tea Tree

Cinnamon Bark

Marjoram

Nutmeg

Parsley

Ketones – If the composition of the essential oil contains more than 20% ketones then do not give to your cat.

Marigold

Spearmint

Hyssop

Sage

Dill

Yarrow

Peppermint

Of course if you have a holistic veterinarian that you trust then by all means do what he tells you to do.

These are the essential oils you can safely use and the ones I use with my cats in my home.

Clary Sage

Geranium Essential Oil

Lavender Essential Oil

Chamomile Essential Oil

Rosemary Essential Oil

Valerian Essential Oil

With my cats I have certain things I do when using essential oils.

If my cat tries to get away or hisses and carries on when I try to make them stay then I do not use it on them.

I never lock my cats in a room that has essential oils diffusing, I always give them a way out to fresh air

When using essential oils I make sure to buy or make the best and I use the smallest amount possibly to get the effect I want.

I sure hope this helps you to keep your cats healthy so they may live a long life.

Read More: Cool Science Club Name Suggestions

cat
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.