Petlife logo

She's More Than "Just a Rabbit"

Stray to Stay

By Rochelle GordonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Dottie the Bunny

She was a foster. I was excited because I'd had a rabbit as a kid and love how cute they are like anyone else. I'd fostered several kittens from the same shelter previously, and on this particular day they had reached capacity in their small animal room and needed someone to take one of the rabbits off their hands for a little while. I thought sure! Why not?

While fostering kittens, one of the questions I got asked the most was; "don't you get attached?" "Isn't is hard to give them back?" Sure, I certainly grow fond of them, but I never had a problem giving the kittens back. I knew they weren't mine and I never had any desire to keep one long term.

Naturally, I assumed I'd have the same experience with my foster bunny. I'd keep her until it was time for her to be spayed, then give her back to the shelter for adoption.

I was very, very wrong.

The bunny, who's name was Dodie at the time, was three months old and white aside from her gray ears, nose, tail, and paws. She was a rabbit, so yes, she was very cute. She was a shy and timid at first, as I assumed all rabbits were all the time, due to their nature as a prey species.

Of course, as I fostered her I did as much internet research on rabbits as I possibly could. I learned that rabbits as pets are extremely misunderstood, and often mistreated. They don't belong in cages, they shouldn't drink out of bottles, they shouldn't be overfed pellets. The list goes on.

It took a few weeks, and some patience, but gradually the bunny came out of her shell. In time, we had bonded in a way I have never bonded with an animal before. It turns out, she was bold and adventurous, and extremely friendly. Her personality shocked me, I thought rabbits all acted the same. I was proven wrong by the attitude and sass the eight pound creature delivered. I loved every bit of her boldness.

At this time, the world was just going into lockdown due to the COVID-19 pandemic. While many factors of my life were thrown into chaos due to this, I had one enormous positive; I got to foster the bunny for much longer than originally planned. I renamed her Dottie. She became my peace, my constant. Within a few weeks of picking up the little fur baby, I knew she was my soulmate. I could never give her back.

With that, I adopted my baby. The bunny that was only meant to be a month long foster became my pride and joy, and in the midst of a global pandemic, the thing that kept me going. Dottie gave me a reason to keep fighting when the world around me was falling apart. Like many others, I was furloughed due the pandemic. Since everything was shut down, not to mention the fear of going out, it would have been easy to shrivel away in my small apartment. Not on Dottie's watch. She kept me busy and active. She kept me thinking of new ways to entertain and stimulate her. If we weren't doing that, we were cuddling and just loving each other. She became my truest and most loyal companion that has touched my life in way that only other rabbit parents could understand.

Rabbits truly are misunderstood animals. I urge everyone to do research to understand what incredible companions they can make when cared for properly. Many rabbits suffer due to poor quality of care. I love my rabbit for not only being my best friend, but for also being the impetus for educating myself on these animals.

I truly believe that Dottie saved my life. I will be forever grateful to her for being my savior during a chaotic time.

Thank you, Dottie.

rabbit
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.