Petlife logo

Sentry

For Buttons, a good cat that left too soon

By Tylan JacksonPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Buttons

Sentry

You were the first to greet me when I came to meet her parents. Sitting atop an old wooden chair. Staring with sharp eyes that held only curiosity. Without even trying, you helped put me at ease. Calm as a frozen pond in contrast to the frantic beating of my heart.

I didn’t know you as long as they did. But I learned quite a few things rather quickly.

You were eternal.

The self appointed watcher for the home and people you loved. A constant presence that emanated love and warmth. Always next to the door in that old wooden chair that couldn’t possibly be comfortable enough to lay in all day. Giving affection when asked and never demanding anything in return.

I fell in love with you quickly. There wasn’t anything I wouldn’t do to make you happy. But I couldn’t do much.

Content at your post. Loved by everyone that passed. Full to bursting with wet food. You were clearly as happy as could be.

So, I took to showering you with affection. Braving heat, cold, and mosquitoes to love you whenever you crossed my mind.

In the last year or two your perch changed more often than you probably liked. Sometimes it was your chair, sometimes a box, and the ground when absolutely necessary.

Most recently it was an old grill that you had no business being on top of. It never mattered what your tower was or wasn’t. You were always there to watch and love all those that passed.

Until the day you weren’t.

We were worried you weren’t at your post.

Scared you were nowhere to be found.

Momentarily relieved when you appeared in the neighbors yard.

And terrified when we realized you couldn’t move your back half.

The car ride to the vet was the first time I ever heard you cry. It wasn’t a sound I had ever imagined you making. It was a sound that broke all our hearts. A sound you never should have had to make.

Then we were in that strange room. Faced with a vet that told us your heart was too big. But none of us were surprised. You always had more than enough love for everyone who walked by.

She told us that your chances were slim. That you would never be the same if you made it through the next few days. That you were in pain.

She told us that saying goodbye would be best for you.

But we were selfish. We wanted you, not your memory.

So we poured our love and hope into you. Asked you to be strong one last time and begged the vet to do whatever she could to keep you with us.

You fought hard.

Did your best for us one last time.

But, our diligent little sentinel, it was your time.

You weren’t alone when you passed. But I wish that I could have been there with you. More than that, I wish you could’ve stayed with us.

You deserved more years than what you got. And a better goodbye than what I could muster that last time I saw you.

Buttons, wherever you are, I hope you’re happy. I hope you can walk, eat, play, and lay in the sun like you loved to do. I hope you finally have a tower worthy of your greatness, and someone to run a hand down your back as they pass.

I hope these words are able to reach you somehow.

I hope you know that we love you.

I hope you know we will keep on loving you until eternity ends.

I hope you know that we miss you.

I hope you know that, even though you’re not here with us, you’ll always be our little sentry.

cat
Like

About the Creator

Tylan Jackson

I've been writing for years but have rarely been brave enough to share any of it. This year I'm trying to change that. My wife and I have six cats and a dog. I also have a degree in Creative Writing from the University of Central Arkansas.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.