Petlife logo

Scrappy the Australian Cattle Dog

I couldn't say no.

By Yvonne SantosPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I was lying in bed, scrolling through Facebook one morning as per my morning ritual when I came across the most gorgeous fox-like face. He was two and a half years old and was being re-homed due to aggression between him and his senior 15-year-old brother. His owner assured he was a good dog and really just needed a home where he could be alpha male.

I, myself having two cats, a 12-week-old Treeing Walker pup, and two hamsters, felt there was no way in heaven my husband would allow me to bring yet another animal into our small two-bedroom apartment. And so with a heavy heart I continued to scroll past, but never once did he escape my mind.

A week went by and still no one offered to take him or simply even meet with him. The people who commented only did so to offer "helpful" advice though his owner repeated she'd already tried everything to the point of exhaustion.

During this week I'd subtly brought up the idea of another dog to my husband. He neither accepted nor rejected my proposition, but as everyone that knows us knows he has a soft spot for my deep rooted passion for animals I knew I might be able to talk him into it. And I was right... after a little nudging and convincing he agreed to at least meet with the famous Scrappy.

While texting back and forth with his owner, I learned that Scrappy is not only highly intelligent, but also a very loving and loyal dog. Coming from a family with three little girls, not only is he the perfect watch dog, but he is also a very well-behaved companion. He does well with cats. He enjoys car rides and chasing tennis balls or any ball for that matter. No regular dog toy is indestructible when it comes to ol' Scrap and puzzle toys are solved within the hour before being torn to shreds. Though he was never necessarily leash-trained, he does well on one and very much enjoys going for walks. And the icing on the cake is that he's the perfect-sized dog for a girl who's never really owned a bigger dog but wants to take a step up from smaller breeds like the chihuahua.

Fast forward to Sunday morning. We loaded Lucy in the car and were on our way to meet Scrappy. All went well and after an hour of introductions and getting to know this beautiful dog and the amazing family we were getting him from there was no way I could say no. So back in the car we went, and after stopping for some more dog food and a few treats we brought him home and introduced him to his two cat brothers.

He's still in the process of adjusting and a little skittish, but he is the most loving and relaxed dog. He's already been introduced to a few friends and their pups, he's gone on many car rides, one of which was to Dunkin Donuts where they treated him to a few donut holes, and he loves his daily walks. Overall, I'm happy to have taken a chance on him and I applaud his previous family for doing what they could to find him a loving home rather than dumping him at a shelter or on the side of a road like so many people have a tendency to do these days.

He will live out the rest of his days loved and spoiled rotten. Here's to you, Scrappy.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.