Petlife logo

Saved by Sophie

How a tiny scruff changed my life

By Hazey JamesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Baby Sophie

Feb of 2018 I woke up from a dream I don’t remember and I announced, “Sophie’s coming.”

My fiancée said “Who is Sophie?”

And I said “I have no idea.”

Fast forward to March 17th: I was at my fiancée’s moms house, down the street, making wedding table toppers for the wedding and this little white fluff caught my eye. I said “Was that a dog?” and she said “Yeah, it’s the neighbors dog, it wanders” and we went back to crafting.

This was also my fiancée’s birthday, and we were having a small family party. About 5 hours later her sister arrived. She brought a tiny fluff in with her and said “Did you know there was a dog sitting outside?”. She set the bundle down and she immediately zoomed over to me, plopped down and glared. She was not happy to have been kept waiting.

The name popped back into my head.

“Sophie?” I asked.

She tossed her head like ‘yeah that’s me’ and stood on her back legs asking to be picked up. She immediately curled in my arms and fell asleep.

My fiancée was adamant that we would not keep her. Things were already not quite good in the relationship so when her sister said she was taking her home, I didn’t feel I could object.

Fortunately, Sophie cried. And tried to escape. We were asked to pick her up. Sophie immediately stopped crying and ran for me. Same thing. She indicated she wanted up, curled up and fell asleep.

Unfortunately my fiancée was still very insistent that Sophie was not staying with us. She insisted we bring Sophie to her friend who had been wanting a dog.

I cried, but let her go.

Sophie cried and would not relent. The friend asked us to take her back. We picked her up.

“Well, we can keep her while we find somewhere for her.”

“We can keep her. Or we can find a home for both of us.” I finally put my foot down.

At her vet visit, we determined Sophie was about 5 weeks old. Putting her birth date right around the time of my dream. I did the responsible thing. Checked local apps, straydar, had her checked for a microchip. But I wasn’t surprised no one claimed her. She was meant to be with me.

Sophie was never a fan of my fiancée. Considering she turned out to be an alcoholic narcissist, I’d say Sophie is a much better judge of character than I am.

I struggle with my own mental health, anxiety and depression. Sophie gave me something that was mine, something that needed me to stay strong for her.

She helped through the divorce, and she rides shotgun when I do rideshare. I say it’s to silently judge people, but she seems to enjoy it. She’s won employee of the month every single one I’ve been doing it. There are days my anxiety is overwhelming, and Sophie soothes it. I’m able to work regularly because she’s with me. We recently moved to another state and she’s right here, learning the areas with me. She is also cute and tiny, which helps encourage tips but that’s just a fringe benefit. All in all she has thoroughly warned her employee of the month status.

Because of Sophie, I also got into the rescue community and now Sophie has three rescued siblings and we are looking into starting our own rescue and sanctuary now. None of this would have happened if Sophie hadn’t shown up and demanded I bring her home. She’s still demanding, but in the best possible way, and I love every demanding moment.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Hazey James

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.