Petlife logo

Rocky's Modern Life

The hidden world of Rocky

By Tabitha Published 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Rocky with his favourite toy

Rocky was a beloved dog who always seemed happy and healthy, yet if you looked closer you could see that he had a certain mystery hidden deep in his beautiful blue eyes. Unbeknown to his human family, he had a secret side to him that they were totally unaware of. 

"Wooooof, woof, I am Rocky." I am an Akita Inu. My great-grandparents originated in the mountains of Japan. I am a very proud male and I really love my name. However, there are some things that my owners do not know. (Twisting, turning and moving his tail side to side in absolute confidence). If they were to ask me, of course, I would tell them that I love them. Who wouldn’t? I am treated extra special and given some amazing treats. Have you seen my colourful, twisted cord that is in my mouth? Grrrrrr! With my beautiful colour, doesn’t it give me a unique look?

Anyway, every day (smiling secretly) I have an itinerary.

8:00 -8:30 am Rain, sleet or snow, I have to go for a walk. At almost-one years old, I just have to be out on the road. You know, a dog has to do what a dog has to do. If any-one should forget this, I pretend like I am sleeping, then sneak out and come back before they miss me.

8:30-9:00 am I have a cute little girl-friend that I visit every day. (Wagging his tail happily). My plan is to have a family with little Akita's trotting around the place.

9:00-10:00 am I sneak into the refrigerator, take out the best slice of meat I can find, place it in the microwave and cook it. I enjoy cooking it the way I want it, not how they prepare it for me. ( wrinkling his nose). I always clean up my mess, no one suspects anything.

10:00-10:30 am I take my long bubble bath. I love to smell really nice, so I put in a large amount of the scented gel. To disguise the amount that I use, I usually add water to what is in the bottle. Phew, I cannot let them know what I do. When they are bathing me, I wish they could see how my heart yearns for much more scents.

10:30 -11:00 am I create a raucous by banging pots and pans from the kitchen. I dance and sing, standing on my hind legs. A dog needs to have fun, not just entertaining them. I wish they could hear me. I have such a beautiful base voice.

11:00-11:30 am I go into the towel room, take out the softest and most comfortable towel, wrap it around myself, parade up and down in front of the mirror and pretend to be a movie star. Whenever I accidentally smudge the mirror, I clean it with my tongue to make it sparkling clean.

11:30-12:00 noon This is my telephone time. I have to catch up on all the news that I have missed. I call the boys, (yes, they always the latest news) It is believed that I nap at this time but who would want to doze? when there are so many happenings?

12:00-12:30 pm Is what I call my ‘health time. I do not want to get sick at this time, especially with the Coronavirus going around. Whenever I am taken to the vet, I swear that I am going to be given a shot. I boil my water, squeeze limes in it, and then take many puffs of the steam. Everyone has been wondering how I stay so healthy.

12:30-1:00 pm The time when I provoke the neighbour’s cat. If there is ever a cat visiting us at home, I pretend to like it, but you know dogs, we enjoy chasing those ugly creatures. As for me, I know exactly when he is going to go to his window to show off his cheap bow. I just scratch the window annoyingly and growl and the silly cat jumps back behind the curtain.

1:00-1:30 pm  Is the time when I use my window to see and compare my beauty to all those ‘other breeds’ of dogs passing by. They always seem to know that I am there instinctively, they put their ears up as they pass me, as if they think that would somehow make them more attractive. None of them look as beautiful as I. (Turning and flicking his tail).

1:30-2:00 pm I prepare myself to be fussed over, petted, and pampered by my humans. First, I locate my desired spot, ensure that it’s warm and cozy, then I lie and get my much-needed snooze. By looking at my shiny coat, you know that I am speaking the truth. How on earth would it otherwise look so healthy? Have you ever looked at the skins of humans who hardly sleep? I shiver to think what mine would like. (Exaggerated shaking of his body).

I have no doubt that my family love me. However, I wish they would take more time to understand me. I enjoy all the fussing and the perks, but, I am more than just a dog.

I am Rocky, an Akita.

Rocky running free

 

dog
1

About the Creator

Tabitha

Hello, I'm a singer-songwriter from London currently working on my debut EP. I love telling stories whether its through writing, acting, or song.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.