Petlife logo

Rocky Roads

Our Journey

By Yasmine JamisonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Otto and I

On the 9th of April my life changed. I got otto. It’s a weird thing really, that a little being can create such a large impact. And the funny thing is, is that no matter how prepared you think you are, you are never prepared for what is about to walk into your life. Well, this is our journey. Through all the chewed up carpets and shoes and bitten hand and feet. I will love you through all of it :). I’ve always wanted to start a blog about my life. And I know what you’re thinking. “Everyone wants to start a blog”. Well, I guess I’m like everyone else then but this has genuinely been my dream from a really young age. I’ve tried everything. Dancing, figure skating, music, acting, academics but nothing hits me the same as travelling. The thought of emursing into a culture, the food, the music, the dancing. For me, it really fits it all together. That’s why I love to travel. I love to feel the way other people live. And not just see it but feel it, live in it and experience it for myself. This is what I want to do. Pack my suitcase 🧳, take otto and follow the horizon. And as cheesy as that sounds, I like not having a plan. I enjoy being spontaneous and living in the moment, not worrying about what will happen next or what I have to do next. Feeling completely free of all responsibilities and duties (apart from caring for Otto). I guess the idea is to figure out who you are. For some it’s working, others it’s staying at home, going out, meeting friends but for me it’s Travelling. When I travel I can truly find out who I am and who I want to be.

My goal is to travel around a different continent every summer. Next summer it’ll be Europe, then South America, then east Asia and so on. This way it’s not all cramped into one year and I can experience each culture at its fullest. But the I’m most excited about the food! Each culture has its own traditional food and drinks and being able to experience each one is a personal experience. Last summer I travelled to India to work with a sanctuary that rescued bears and elephants. The food in India was completely different to the food I have back in London but the experience was amazing. I loved the curry 🍛, the rice, the chapati bread and the lentils. It’s slightly different to the curry you can get at your local Indian restaurant but the idea of being part of the culture when trying their traditional food is a whole other experience. Being able to travel even to a few countries has made me appreciate when I live and how each country is unique. How every culture lives a different life and a different routine. First of all, time difference, when I’m waking up some are going to bed or other are having lunch. When it’s winter in the UK it’s summer in Australia and New Zealand. Sometimes life in the same place can get boring and being able to fly away ( literally ) and live in a different world, with a different culture and traditions can make life that much more interesting and breath-taking. I love that I’m so lucky and have the opportunity to travel and to live life to the fullest. After all, we only really live once and it’s best to enjoy it all to the best ability that we can.

travel
1

About the Creator

Yasmine Jamison

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.