Petlife logo

Reasons to Adopt a Huge Dog

House Becomes a Home with a Dog

By Brenda MahlerPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
2
Juggernaut, a mastiff, when he first joined his new family

A couple years ago my husband and I gave into our desires and brought home a baby mastiff. With his floppy ears, huge eyes and a friendly personality he immediately joined the family. Life has been one long adventure with him by our side.

My knowledge of the breed was limited and even though Dan told me he would grow to be large, I related that information to the black labs I grew up with. Excited to play with a puppy and watch him bond with our daughters, I welcomed him with open arms.

We named him Juggernaut. At the time I thought the name was too big; I didn’t like it but it was my husband's choice. Now, I understand and agree it is perfect.

Then he started to grow

At 6 months of age he weighed 92 pounds

Then he grew some more

12 months

At 12 months he added another 30 pounds for a total of 134 pounds, more than both my daughters' weights combined.

Our family celebrated his birthday with a party, balloons and gifts.

12 months

Let’s just say he is a big dog

18 months

At 18 months he reached 160 pounds and started bulking up

When we take him for a walk, he gets attention, and we get the same questions repeated so often that we have discussed making a coat that reads:

Hi, my name is Juggernaut. I weigh 180 pounds. Yes, you may pet me but no, you may not place a saddle on my back ride me. I eat 6 cups of dog food a day.

Often observers ask, “What do you do with a dog that big?” The first response is always, “Whatever he wants to do.” LOL

However, in reality Jugs is a member of the family, in fact, I don’t think my daughters realize he is a dog, and I know he doesn’t. If you are considering adopting a huge dog, here are reasons to take the leap and open your heart — and a really large doggy door.

Love and Support

Juggernaut with his teddy bear

With only one lick, Jugs provides enough affection to wash away all your sadness, fear and anxiety.

Snuggle buddy

Snuggling

He is better than a large body pillows because he produces heat that offers warmth on a chilly night. Any area of flesh provides a soft place to rest and if lucky, he will drape his large paw over you creating the sensation of having a loving partner with none of the attitude.

Completes most Halloween costumes

Hercules

Once wearing a t-shirt, Jugs dressed as Hercules to be a member of The Sandlot gang, joining Squints and Wendy the lifeguard.

The cowardly lion

The following year our entire family dressed as characters from The Wizard of Oz. Jugs was a little bigger than Toto but the concept was clear.

Security guard

Guarding the grandchildren

Juggernaut remains by our daughter wherever they go and whatever they do. Hsleeps in front of the tent opening when they sleep outside. We get a good night’s sleep knowing nobody will bother the children.

Also, there are few worries about home intruders. If anybody looks at the doggy door, large enough for a grown adult to enter with a slight stoop, they would be crazy or stupid to advance.

Bus stop greeter

Each day the children are greeted by this furry creature who embraces them with attention and hugs.

Waiting for the school bus

Dance partner

Dance Partner.

Only a large dog breed would be able to help practice the waltz or prepare for the the dance. My husband won't dance with me but never misses a moment on the dance floor with Jugs.

Long walk companion

Eliza with her friend

A mastiff is a relaxed animal who would walk beside you and provide wonderful company. One caution the leash is only for looks. If he wants to run, there is no holding him back.

I know this from first hand experience. Once we were at my parents' cabin and our family went fishing at the lake. My mom walked him to the lake thinking she was in control. When Juggernaught saw us who, he took off trotting towards them. Mom, who adopted a five pound Yorkie said, “No. Stop.” and tugged on the leash. I watched as he dragged her several yards while we yelled at her to drop the leash. He meant no harm, simply wanted to be with family like all of us.

Meet Roman and Amy

Our family loved their little boy so much we decided to foster another large dog. However, to our surprise, they were twins!

And with their addition, I learned even more reasons to welcome a large dog into our home. If I thought one large dog was exciting, three fill our home with dialy adventure and overwhelm us with love.

Conversationalists

Roman

When a large dog is accepted into the family, they like to be part of the action. Who can blame them? The positive is they make great listeners and talk little.

Reading pal

She's a good listener

When reading a good book, the pleasure increases with a big dog by our side. Roman and Amy are low energy and enjoy sitting and cuddling as we share many moments together.

When I think about life with all our dogs, it is one long memory of a family that is only complete with a dog - or in our case three.

Amy, Roman and Juggernaught

dog
2

About the Creator

Brenda Mahler

Travel

Writing Lessons

Memoirs

Poetry

Books AVAILABLE ON AMAZON.

* Lockers Speak: Voices from America's Youth

* Understanding the Power Not Yet shares Kari’s story following a stroke at 33.

* Live a Satisfying Life By Doing it Doggy Style explains how humans can life to the fullest.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.