Petlife logo

Rascal And Zoey

If Dogs Could Talk

By Theresa RenteriaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Did you ever wonder if your dogs could really talk. Well I have had dogs all my life and I actually believe that some of them were more talented than others. I currently own Rascal and Zoey. Rascal is a little fifteen pound Yorkie and Zoey is a sixty five pound Goldendoodle. I haven’t really put my foot on if Zoey can talk but I definitely believe that Rascal can. Rascal is a rescue pup and he looked like he was the smartest one out of the whole litter. I had a feeling about him early on.

Many years before him I had a dog named Dodger. Dodger was just a six month old puppy when I adopted him. It was my nineteenth birthday and I lived in San Francisco. He felt right for my family and I felt like he chose me as a pose to me choosing him. He was a great dog and was easy to train. He went everywhere with me and my new baby girl Jess. He lived a long fifteen years but passed on soon after his fifteenth birthday. I was so sad when I had to put him down.

A few years later I had gotten Rascal and I just felt like he had been here before. I felt like he knew me. That he chose me again. I used to call Dodger little man and I just instantly started calling Rascal that because it felt right. As Rascal grew he started to get his own personality but I still felt like he was special. I kept telling my boyfriend that I think he can talk. We would try to get him to say something but he just cocked his head to the side and looked at us funny as if to say; “I will never speak”. Rascal can really understand things that we say better than any other dogs that he had been around. When he gets in trouble we say “what did you do?” and he comes right over wagging his tail and gives us kisses of his apology. I know he understands us all very well.

Rascal is going to be seven this year and when he was six we decided that maybe another dog would be fun for him to have around. We adopted Zoey and they have had so much fun ever since she came into the picture. I actually think that they talk to each other when we leave the house.When we come back home from wherever we go the two of them look at us funny. As if they were just talking about us. I really feel that Rascal does all the talking.

Zoey is only a year and a half, still a young little girl but she understands some things. She is very verbal which makes me believe that she loves to hear herself talk. She still gives us that look as if she knows what we are saying too. I think as she gets older she will be able to understand me better.

It's hard to tell if they can actually talk. But I wish that they would just say something. I love you or hello. Something.

I guess for now I will have to just believe that they talk amongst themselves. At least until they say something to me. But I do feel like these two can really understand the human language better than any other dog that I know anyway. Hopefully someday they say something to us that sounds a little like the English language.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.