Petlife logo

Purpose

Little Guardian

By Psychotically SweetPublished 4 years ago 7 min read
1

I dug my claws into the carpet crouching close to the ground. With my hind legs risen I arch my back preparing to attack. 3…..2…..1…go! I dash around the couch, quickly moving through the cotton tunnel to tackled her leg and bam! Contact is made.

"Melody! I almost fell." The human whined.

I stand victorious. Successfully attacking my target.

"Aw come here baby. Look at you being all playful today." She kneels down reaching her hand out to me.

I take her up her offer. I could use a good scratch behind the ears. I lift my head allowing her to stroke the fur on the bridge of my nose. Oh that feels good. Her hand wanders passed my ears, down my back and up my tail. A purr rolls out making me turn back around for more.

"Don't touch me!" I swat away her hand that lingered too long near my stomach.

I swear these humans think of us as furry little play toys. Yes for the most part us cats do love to laze around but don't let that fool you. We are fierce warriors and protectors of this realm. From the beginning of time we fought against the demonic forces that plague this world. At birth we are trained and taught how to protect the humans we are in charge of. We are told that our main goal in life is to protect the souls of the living. Demons gain their power from the souls they collect and devour. So it is our job to stop them. We are one of the many species who are given this duty. Mainly because we are able to see and sense them. Some humans have the ability to sense a demonic presence but usually lack in experience and technique to ward them off. Unlike us who are born with special toxins in our bodies that can only harm beings that are not of this world. Which is why we must watch over them. But occasionally we do enjoy messing around with the fleshy beings.

Today has been pretty slow with the action. So far no major demon sightings. I don't know what it is but lately they've been really trying to get my human. It's been getting harder to protect her. Every night is a battle and it feels like they are getting stronger. It has something to do with her energy. Somehow it is different from others. It grows in power as she sleeps. Speaking of which the skies are starting to darken. I must be on high alert, I say as I roll around on the ground. You know to stretch out my muscles.

"Good night Melody. I love you and I'll see you in the morning." She attacks my face with kisses.

Nasty.

"Back it up peasant." I scooch away wishing she could hear me.

"Yeah, yeah I love you too." She ruffles my fur before turning off all the lights.

As she closes her bedroom door the living room is engulfed with darkness. The air shifted around me and I can feel the temperature cool. My ears perk up. It's here. A growl erupted in the living room. I cautiously make my way inside, keeping a full view of the area. A large mass began to grow in the corner towering over me. Sometimes having the ability to see in the dark can be both a gift and a curse.

"So you're brave enough to show your ugly ass face around here uh?" I take my stance baring my teeth.

"She will be ours." Its voice rips through the air.

"Think again." I lunge at the mass sinking my claws deep inside its rancid flesh.

It screams and grabs me by the skin of my back, tossing me across the room. I maneuver my body, twisting it in mid air to land on my feet. Instantly ready to pounce at the demon again with more power. I attack with a series of swings. Making sure each one slashed at the flesh of the demon. It threw me to the ground.

"Why do you defend the human girl? Do you not despise her for keeping you locked away like a lowly pet?" It tries to get inside my head.

Despise her? Never. Not once has she treated me badly. She raised me as if I was one of her own. She calls me her child.

"I am in charge of protecting her and that is exactly what I'll do." I glared at the beast with its blood dripping from my paws.

The mass quickly moves and strikes me in the side. As my body is hurled at the wall I can hear a crack ripple through my ribs. The son of a bitch fractured my rib cage! Shit! Usually a blow like this wouldn't affect me as much but there was something more to this demon I couldn't sense. That's it! This is the one that took a huge chunk of her energy last week. Before I could get to her it was gone. That would explain it’s increases in strength. I try my best to stand but pain slices through my body sending me back to the ground. The taste of copper coats my tongue as droplets of blood fall to the carpet. The demon laughs hovering over me.

"Don't worry we'll take good care of her soul for you." The mass rushes passed me in the direction of my human's room.

"No!"

I push myself up from the ground and run to the bedroom trying to ignore the pain. I try to open the door but it's closed.

Damn it!

Loud painful groans comes from inside. I need to help her! Maybe I can try and break open the door. I take a deep breath and begin clawing at the door. But no matter how much I scrape away it won't budge. And then my heart sank when I heard the sound of her crying.

"Get away from her! Leave her alone." If I can't break through it maybe I can reach out to her.

I desperately shove my paw underneath the door but she's too far away. I won't make it in time to save her. I am suppose to protect her. That is my whole purpose in life. If I can't do that then what right do I have to be here.

"It is too late. Her soul is mine." The demon's raspy voice mocked me.

Panic begins to set in and a sense of hopelessness clouds around me, but then an image of my human mother appears in my mind. Smiling, laughing, and attacking me with affection. No matter how many times I hurt her in the past because I refused to accept her as my new mother, because I refused to accept the role I have been forced to take because of my birth right, she always came back to me with a gentle smile. She never gave up on me. And I won't give up on her.

"Fight it! You have to fight it. I know you can't understand what I'm saying but please feel it." I desperately call out to her.

The demons roars angrily, emitting a strong negative aura. It's losing its grip on her.

"I know you're strong. Why else would the Gods assign me to you." I don't know if I'm just going delirious from the pain or what. But I swear I felt a warm light flowing out from the room.

"Do not let him take your soul. Do you hear me! I said fight!" The roars of the demon intensified.

"Just give up. You can't win this one." I heard it whisper to her.

"Fight!"

"Never." The room went silent. It was her.

"I-I will n-never give up." Her voice strained.

She grunts screaming as her body thrashes against the bed as the demon struggles to hold her down. It releases one last desperate cry, unable to fight against the light she is emitting.

"Guah!" I hear her gasp.

"Are you okay? Hey answer me!"

Did it work? I remove my arm and continue to cry at the door. She has to open it. She hates it when I do this.

Please come to me.

And then a tired groan approaches the door.

"Mm Melody, baby girl what are you doing? Do you know what time it is?" She smiles down at me.

"Move aside." I push passed her limping my way inside making sure every trace of the demon is gone.

She glides her hand across my back hitting a tender area.

"Aye that hurts." I whine.

"Aww baby you are you okay? Are you hurt somewhere?" She scratches my cheek.

She stretches her arms in the air then throws herself back onto the bed. Everything that just happened seems like a bad dream to her. I wait for her to settle into a comfortable position before joining her. I very carefully crawl up on the bed and on to her chest. I lay down resting my head right above her heart. Letting the sound of its beats soothe me. At least you're okay.

"I love you Melody." She yawns brushing the fur between my ears.

"Love you too. You peasant."

cat
1

About the Creator

Psychotically Sweet

Writing and art is what I do. It frees the demons that lay dormant inside me. I don't fear them, I accept them. Because at the end they are the ones that will be with you forever.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.