Petlife logo

Pigs On The Sofa

.

By Brenda MocklerPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

I would love to have pig friends in our home, or at least the backyard, but alas, we do not have enough room for a barn, and our small house would not comfortably accommodate two large pigs on the sofa. If we could, I know just which pigs I would choose. Their names are Roxy and Rayline, and they live at a rescue in New Hampshire called Live and Let Live Farm. It is a magical place that accepts all kinds of animals, and if you get the chance to visit, please do. The farm began decades ago by taking in horses, but I have met turtles and cockatoos there as well. Any animal who needs help is welcome. What I can do for these pretty girls is sponsor them, so that is what I do. I have not yet met them in person, (or, in porcine, as the case may be.) I will meet them soon, but in the meantime, I thought I would get to know them through a telepathic communication with each.

I began with Rayline, who came flying in with angel wings and since Roxy pranced in along with her, I spoke with them together at first. Rayline loved being scratched on her left side and as I was scratching her, Roxy bit her on her right backside. Ray hardly noticed and Roxy said she did it just to let her know that she is not the Queen of the world just because she is getting a scratch. It became obvious that each girl needed her own time, so I began again.

Rayline:

Rayline confirms that she loves to be scratched on her sides and under the chin. All scratching is welcome. She is smart, funny and fast. She loves exercise and trots around her pen regularly but balances it with lounging and sunning herself also. She is cheerful which she shows me with an adorable, chubby cheeked smile, and her favorite snack is watermelon.

When I ask about her relationship with Roxy, she explains that Roxy is a lot of fun and she loves her. She continues by telling me that they are opposites and make a good team because of it.

Roxy:

Roxy corroborates much of Rayline’s information. While Rayline runs fast whenever she can, Roxy walks daintily like the smart and sophisticated lady she is. She enjoys being petted more softly and not scratched as is Rayline’s preference. She’s quieter and cuddly so when I sit down on the floor, she comes over to sit in my lap. She is clever, too, and says that when it comes to her and Rayline, she’s the brains and Rayline is the brawn. They get along fine, according to Roxy, but sometimes “I need to nibble her to remind her that I’m the boss because of my brains.” I see Roxy unlatching their gate and Rayline running like the wind out of there.

Both girls have messages for us. Rayline wants to remind us to play and lighten up. She says, “come visit us” and “smile a lot.”

Roxy is more immediate at first and says, “please adopt us,” which melts my heart, but her deeper message is about love. I feel so much love from her and she gives me another cuddle to emphasize her point.

I feel that I know the girls better now and can hardly wait to give them scratches and cuddles for real.

Pigs everywhere are smart. At the surface, they can be trained more easily than dogs and can work puzzles. A pig can figure out anything she fixes her mind on. If you doubt this, try to secure the object of a pig’s desire.

On a deeper level, pigs are tuned in to the spiritual world. Both Roxy and Rayline have heartfelt messages and advice for us. Every pig I have communicated with has too. Most are about looking ahead and moving forward. They only root in one direction…forward, and do not give a hoot what anyone thinks of their plans. They encourage us to do the same.

exotic pets
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.