Petlife logo

Pigeons: much maligned heroes.

A celebration of, and unapologetic appreciation for these local heroes.

By Deborah RobinsonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Pigeons: much maligned heroes.
Photo by Sneha Cecil on Unsplash

You know, I do love pigeons. What a statement for a piece of writing, I hear you say! But, seriously, over lock-down, I have had more opportunity to really look at these birds, and honestly, I would urge you do do the same.

Let me explain: over the last 12 months, we have found ourselves mostly having our morning coffee, not in the warmth of the nearest high street chain, or snug little independent cafe, but outside. In the cold. Because, okay, maybe we can cope with not celebrating parties and significant birthdays with loved ones indoors, but try to deny us our morning caffeine intake? You know the saying: 'Life begins after caffeine.' And so lots of us have donned extra clothing, wrapped up and taken the lattes, the soya cappucinos and the million calories hot chocolates with cream and mallows, and gingerly placed our buttocks onto cold park benches (unless you're organised and have brought a blanket. I find a plastic shopping bag was an acceptable alternative), and accepted our lot.

It was during one of many of these 'excursions' that I began to get to 'know' some of the resident pigeons in a nearby town. As I was scoffing my raspberry croissant, and gratefully gulping my Americano (with oat milk), I recognised some of the little pigeons from previous visits. There was the one with the funny limp. Of course, I tried my best to ensure she got some of my pastry. There was the one with more white feathers than the others. And, look, there was the little rough looking one; the one who looked like he/she needed a wash and a bit of a groom. He/she also got a good portion of the croissant.

I also noticed other fellow pigeon-appreciators, and was particularly impressed by the 'die-hard fanatic' who had actually brought some seed to feed the critters. Now that's a whole other level of care! I was able to eat my croissant without sharing, that day.

On one special occasion, however, one of my friends got closer. And by 'closer' I mean, actually up on my knee! I was eating another pastry (I know, but it was cold, and cold weather is made better with calories), and having shared some, as normal, one bold little birdy, keen for more, actually hopped up onto my leg. I was delighted! I don't really go for the 'flying rats' description, and I actually quite like rats, so the idea that the bird might be 'dirty' never phased me. The cheeky one pecked my fingers, begging, and typical of most animals, it cleared off as soon as the food was gone. But we shared a 'moment', and I have a photo of the little grey creature sitting on my leg, and then on the bench beside me.

So, it looks as though these days of eating and drinking outside, and of social distancing are going to be with us for a while, yet. I say, why not take a moment to appreciate your local pigeons. Take a moment to observe the amorous antics of a wooing male, puffing and wobbling his beautiful green chest while he struts a little rhythm in front of a usually unimpressed female. Bless him, I think he's great! Keep dancing, fella.

And also, let's not forget that relatives of these 'feral pigeons', their cousins the Homing Pigeons, saved countless lives in carrying messages, during both World Wars. Thirty-two birds were actually presented with Dickin Medals.

And a very cool fact, is that pigeons can take flight vertically, using both their feet, and their wings, which can beat up to eighty times a second, to give them lift. Incredible, aren't they?

So, the next time you get irritated at a little bobbing pigeon as you try to navigate the city, or shoo away a feathered friend hoping for a morsel of your wrap, maybe take a second to share, or step aside, and just observe these tenacious wonders. You never know, maybe one will hop onto your knee.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Deborah Robinson

I'm new to the 'writing for real' scene. Previously, I've kept my poetry and writing under wraps in a fancy notebook, but now I've decided to give it a proper go!

I hope you enjoy my work.

Thanks, Deborah.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.