Petlife logo

Pet Grief is Real, Painful, and it Sucks

Stop asking pet parents when they are getting a new pet

By Mrz. PGPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Pet Grief is Real, Painful, and it Sucks
Photo by Andrew S on Unsplash

When a pet parent has just lost their pet it’s rude as hell to ask them when they are going to replace them!!!

I lost my dog Bella in 2019 and my cat Gizmo almost two weeks ago. For some reason, asking when I would replace them a day after they passed was a VERY popular question.

That question is inappropriate and insulting! I just lost someone I loved very much!

Would you ask someone that just lost their child, parent, friend, or a significant loved one when they would replace them?

I get some view pet loss as a first-world problem and I also understand that if you have never had a pet it’s hard to relate. However, death is death and everyone handles it differently.

A pet becomes part of your daily life and provides unconditional love and support. People have pets for all kinds of reasons like companionship, emotional support, combatting depression, and a sense of responsibility.

This Is What You Should Know About Pet Grief

The loss of a pet comes in stages — denial, anger, guilt, depression, acceptance, and resolution. These feelings will come in waves and some days will be better than others.

Grieving the loss of a pet can last from one to two months and in some cases up to a year. When a pet leaves its physical body it leaves a void in the owner's routine. If there is a surviving pet in the home you better believe they feel the loss also.

When Bella first passed away Gizmo meowed in all the spots they hung out in at the house for several weeks. I even caught him sleeping in her winter jacket. Yes, you read that right, Bella had an Olive green winter coat! I loved my fur babies like they were my own kids.

Here’s How To Help Someone Grieving Their Pet

I’m a firm believer that if you have nothing nice to say then don’t say anything at all. No one wants to hear your judgment especially if you don’t have experience with it. If you do have experience, your judgment is still not welcomed.

If you know someone mourning their pet and want to help but don’t know here are some ideas:

  • Ask if they want to share any fond memories of their pet
  • Suggest memorial ideas like drawings, poems, picture collages
  • Suggest pet grief counseling/support groups
  • Just send your condolences
  • You can read more about Gizmo in the post here.

    You can read about Bella in a post I did for What is Love To You? below:

    I Found This Poem Comforting Maybe You Will Too

    I Only Wanted You

    They say memories are golden well, maybe that is true.

    I never wanted memories, I only wanted you.

    A million times I needed you, a million times I cried.

    If love alone could have saved you, you never would have died.

    In life I loved you dearly, In death, I love you still.

    In my heart, you hold a place no one could ever fill.

    If tears could build a stairway and heartache make a lane,

    I’d walk the path to heaven and bring you back again.

    Our family chain is broken, and nothing seems the same.

    But as God calls us one by one, the chain will link again.

    –Vicky Holder

    I’ll meet you at the Rainbow Bridge…

    Taken by Author: Bella and Gizmo partners in crime

    I know I gave you guys a great life. You're no longer by my side but will forever be in my heart!!!

    Love,

    Your Fur Momma

    If you thought this was helpful subscribe for more content or show your support with a small tip.

    humanity
    Like

    About the Creator

    Mrz. PG

    My superpower is in the silver lining.

    Let me show you how to see through a different lens.

    Reader insights

    Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

    How does it work?

    Add your insights

    Comments

    There are no comments for this story

    Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sign in to comment

      Find us on social media

      Miscellaneous links

      • Explore
      • Contact
      • Privacy Policy
      • Terms of Use
      • Support

      © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.