Petlife logo

Passion Peace

Advocator

By Maria SemajPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Passion Peace
Photo by Lynda B on Unsplash

It took me some time to ponder on if I would post for this challenge. My peace is not artsy and does not involve meditation. Although there are a few ways for a person to thread their own needle. I felt that some people would see my way more as work than peaceful, but I am going to share any way. Growing up there were always animals freely walking around in my area. I did not know as a kid that they were homeless, just free. I would always feed them anything we had in the house, food, or milk. We had a total of about seven cats that lived in our back yard, and I gave them each a name. Everyday I would feed and take care of them it was a routine for me after school, then after work.

I have now been working in the animal field for over ten years. I started out in kennel attendant: cleaning cages, walking dogs, feeding, medicating, and playtimes with cats and dogs. I then went to school to be a veterinary technician and got a job as one: meeting with clients obtaining medical history, surgeries, medications, treatment for hospitalized cases etc. Now I am a veterinary practice manager. With the help of a team of doctors I manage kennel attendants, veterinary technicians, veterinary receptionist, while also maintaining client communication.

Although I have moved up the ranks quite a bit in the veterinary medical field the one thing that remains constant is my peace outside of work. It is very worthwhile each day to be able to work around animals, but the field of veterinary medicine is very stressful. Seeing as I have been working in the veterinary field for so long, I have seen several things. Animals being abandoned, abused, euthanized without what I consider to be good reason etc.

Now here is where I thread the needle. In working in all the animal hospitals I’ve worked in and volunteering at some of the locations I have volunteered in I made a choice. I began taking it upon myself to learn to network outside of work. I began creating a shelter in my home. I see an animal on the street or get a call from a person that knows I work in the animal field. I then go pick up the animal, give them shelter in my home, nourish them, clean them up, and begin socializing them. From there I schedule first appointments to get them medically examined, vaccinations, dental, spay and/or neutered with the help of amazing doctors that I met through out my years of working in the field. Once they are all taken care of and ready to be with a family I create a post with information on them, post pictures and wait for the emails and calls. While waiting I enjoy having all the fur babies at home.

Moving forward from there, sometimes the people calling were just as passionate as I am about making sure all the fur babies have a home. They either want to adopt, or they would forward to another person that wanted to adopt. The advocating and networking is great, and I enjoy talking to anyone that enjoys talking about animals. Before adopting them out to any family I do my do diligence for each fur baby asking the proper questions before a formal meet and greet. If everything checks out a formal meet and greet is scheduled. Sometimes the family doesn’t even live in my city, and I get to road trip with the animals. Every fur baby finds a great home.

My needle thread begins with the animals left behind. Giving the animals safe shelter, cleaning them up, getting medical care in my field of expertise, taking and posting playful pictures, meeting potential families, meet &greets, and finding forever homes. My peace is giving animals peace they are voiceless babies that need true advocates.

adoption
Like

About the Creator

Maria Semaj

My passion is being a voice for the voiceless. Speaking up for animals and/or the miss understood.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.