Petlife logo

Our Dog Understands Everything We Say and Here Is How I Know

He listens to our conversations!

By Debbie CentenoPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
1
Our most handsome Chewy - photo by the author

A Little about Chewy

We have a dog. He is a mix between a Chihuahua and a Dachshund, a Chiweenie they call them. His name is Chewy, and he is 10 years old. He was the runt of the pack and has been with us since he was 5-weeks old. For us, he is family, and we treat him like so. Chewy is a smart little guy, and he understands what we talk about. It happened on more than one occasion and here is my proof.

What Not to Say at Home

At least once a week, my family and I enjoy an ice cream treat from the Twistee Treat nearby. Chewy enjoys it, too. Every time we take him along with us, he gets a free pup cup. Unfortunately, we cannot say the name of the treat at home because he whines loudly for us to take him. The prohibited words are ice cream, helado, mantecado (we’re bilingual so he understands both English and Spanish), that cold thing, the frozen thing — he associates these words with the delicious sweet treat from Twisty Treat. Therefore, when we consider having ice cream, we dance around the words with either spelling or other related things if we don’t want him to ride along. Of course, we always bring him a pup cup, anyway.

He Is a Nosy Little Guy Too

One night, my son and I wandered outside to take Chewy to do his business before heading to bed. It was a beautiful, clear, starry night with a full moon. So bright and energetic that it caught our attention as soon as we stepped outside. My son and I commented on how beautiful the sky seemed — the glowing stars twinkling and the full moon so bright. We had spent a good 5 minutes out there, so I figured Chewy had completed his business. I searched for him in the yard but did not see him. He was standing next to me, staring at the sky, too.

I thought it was funny that he was staring at the sky and said to him,

“Hey, why are you listening to our conversation? Do your business since that is what you came out here to do.”

He then walked towards the grass and did his business.

My son and I stared at each other while laughing. It was as if he really understood what we were talking about.

A Deep Conversation with Chewy

There was another incident that had me questioning myself. Chewy sleeps in our room but in his crate. I tuck him in every night. Believe it or not, he wants his covers over his entire body. Therefore, he will sit in his crate until we come to tuck him in. We never close it, and he sleeps well until about 4 or 5 a.m. when he jumps onto our bed. He snuggles between my husband and me. One night, my husband shifted from his back to his side and Chewy began growling. The shifting around in bed disturbed Chewy’s sleep, and he did not like that. We called him out on it, and he calmed down. But the following night it got worse. His growling was louder and aimed at both my husband and me. After calming him down, we went back to sleep.

The next morning, while I dressed my bed, I had a little chat with Chewy. He was sitting on the floor and stared at me as I said to him. “Good morning Chewy. We need to talk about your behavior these past two nights.”

Yes Mom, I understand - photo by the author

Pointing towards my bed, I said, “This is not your bed. This is Dad's and mom’s bed.”

Pointing towards his crate, I continued, “That is your bed. The next time you come to my bed and begin growling, I will pick you up and lock you in your bed (crate). So, if you want to continue sleeping with mom and dad, you must be on your best behavior. No growling. Understood?”

Of course, he did not respond and just stared at me with those beautiful puppy eyes. That night before tucking Chewy in bed (his crate). I said to him, “Remember this morning’s conversation? If you jump on my bed and growl at us when we move, I will grab you and bring you back to your bed (crate) and lock it.” I said my goodnight, gave him a kiss and tucked him in.

That night, I heard him, as usual, shake off his cover. Then he jumped on our bed and accommodated himself. When my husband shifted around in bed, I waited for Chewy’s growling, but he did not growl.

“Hm, maybe he didn’t feel it,” I thought, so I shifted around and heard nothing. Not a peep came from Chewy. I placed my hand on him to make sure he was okay. He raised his head but did not make a sound and went back to sleep.

My Conversation with Chewy Paid Off

It has been a few months since this incident. So far, my conversation with Chewy worked, because he has not growled at us in bed ever since. These situations with our Chewy will never be forgotten. They are memories that I'll cherish forever; and why I believe dogs understand our conversations.

Originally published at https://debbiesreflection.com on September 29, 2021.

dog
1

About the Creator

Debbie Centeno

Debbie is an active spiritualist and medium. Yoga and meditation are part of her daily routines. She loves to travel and enjoys writing. Her blogs are Debbie’s Reflection (www.debbiesreflection.com) and Traveler Wows (www.travelerwows.com).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.