Petlife logo

Oreo

The cookie to my milk 🍪🥛

By Ally HadleyPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

In 2010 my parents split up, and so my dad, my sister and I moved to a new house. We had a dog with my mum but we had to leave it, and of course we were sad. so in 2014 we had a puppy named peanut. She was black all over and was a labradoodle. She was full of so much life and lit up a room with her happiness. But unfortunately she died later that year after a terrible accident. We had to say goodbye and that broke our hearts. In 2015 we decided we were ready to get a new dog. We went to the pound for months, but as our house is small we needed a small dog and none were there. On gumtree my sister saw a woman needing to load off a bunch of puppies quite quickly, so we decided to go and have a look. We are from Hobart, and the lady lived in Launceston (Tasmania) so it was roughly a two hour trip. After we visited and picked her out we went back up 2 weeks later to officially take her home. She was 5 weeks old, way earlier than we should of gotten her, but the lady was desperate and we really wanted her. So we spent the day up there with the dog then drove home at night. I was holding her in the car. As we were driving it was a long road so we were going fast, we noticed too late this turn off that was new and so we ended up spinning out of control and the dog flew from my hands. My dad eventually got the car in control and luckily the only thing damaged was the bumper. I thought we lost her, but she was fine. Flash forward to having her, she became the hope. She is a terrier crossed with many things we still are unsure haha, she is rough looking but in the cutest way. Her name is Oreo as she’s black all over with a stripe down the middle, and she just turned 5. We had a scare a few years back where she ran away, and I thought something bad was going to happen to her, but she just ran so much that she tired herself out and passed out somewhere and then was found later by someone, and we got her from the vet and she was perfectly fine. She is the most unique dog I’ve ever met, as she acts like a little human. She knows certain words, eats food with me, she whines when she isn’t getting attention and when she needs help even though she could do it herself hehe. She’s thoughtful, caring, loving and I see her as my baby. She sleeps under the covers next to me and every morning she waits until I’m awake and then licks and jumps on me. Sometimes I fake I’m still asleep so I can sleep in but she knows. She also is obsessed with food, especially meat pies and cheese. Everytime we talk about getting food she jumps on us and hugs us which is her way of sucking up haha. Basically she is the light of my life, very intuitive and loves humans more than dogs. She brought our family close after everything that happened and puts smiles on our faces everyday.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Ally Hadley

just a bored blonde who has many opinions 💕💋

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.