Petlife logo

One Kind Touch

Experiencing a Stockyard as an intern at The Farm Sanctuary

By Abigail LynnPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1
Ash Sheep living peacefully at The Farm Sanctuary

Today, I had the opportunity to visit a stockyard. I was given a choice to be there, and bear witness to animals that weren't given the same choice. As I sat in a warm car, traveling to the stockyard, I thought about what it would feel like to be one of the many animals I would soon encounter. What it would feel like to be in a moving vehicle, not knowing where I was going or what would happen when I got there. Hearing people talking, not knowing what they were saying; but the way they were talking, didn't feel nice.

Upon arrival, we walked down dirt aisles surrounded by pens. My heart raced with pity and rage all at once. I stood against the metal bars, watching as calves suckled on each others ears. Some poking their heads through the bars reaching out, reaching for something to cling to. In another pen, a slightly older cow walked up to me and nibbled on my coat. I could feel her curiosity, and a tinge of desperation. I tried to tell them with my eyes who we were and why we were here.

I witnessed calves being auctioned off as commodities. I watched as their eyes scanned the room, seeking out some sort of hope. Again, I imagined myself as one of them. Fearful of the man pushing me around. Anxious about the many people surrounding me. Searching for my mother, but I haven't seen her for a while. Wondering where the calf next to me was going, and if maybe we would get to stay together. Hoping the person who just raised their hand, was here to save me. But, something in their eyes told me that wouldn't be right.

As we left, I said one last prayer. I apologized to the animals. I told them we see them, we know they are here, and we are trying.

A month after my first visit, I went back to the stockyard. This time knowing what I was walking into. Believing I was prepared for what I was about to see. Telling myself this time I could be stronger, bolder. This time I would be able to let the animals know how much I love them without tears in my eyes. But God, was I wrong.

Before even walking in to the building, I witnessed a child carrying a crate crammed full of ducks, with their only view of the world being through the chicken wire above their heads. Following quickly behind a man that looked to be his father. A child, so innocent, so unknowing, carrying life in his hands to be sold as human property. Much like the ducks he was carrying, likely unable to comprehend where he even was. But, this wasn't the only scene involving a child that would break my heart that day.

I went back to the stockyard not because I had to, but because I wanted to. I got to go back. I was able to see the animals again, though I knew these faces weren't the same ones I saw a few weeks ago. I got to send them all the love that I have and express to them the remorse in my heart. I got to touch some of their faces and look into their eyes. I ran my fingers over their red stained fur hoping that my one kind touch could make up for every unkind hand that was yet to come. But walking down the seemingly endless aisle, with pens on both sides, how could I touch them all?

At the end of the path there's a pen full of day old calves. Brand new to this world and standing on barren ground. This is one of the first things they get to know and this is where they wait until they are auctioned off. As I walked up to this pen, a calf stuck her head through the metal bars reaching out to me. This time, I wasn't afraid to reach back. I rubbed her soft nose as she suckled on my fingers. Away from her mother, the one instinct she had coming into this world was unable to be fulfilled. I felt the hope she was clinging to, as she clung to me. I could see the plead in her eyes. So desperate for liberation. Can you imagine what it would feel like? To be brand new to this world, away from the one person you know, and greeted with fear?

I became desperate for her liberation. Frustrated that I wouldn't be able to save her. Frustrated that all I could give her right then, was one kind touch. She was brand new to this world and already alone. I sent her every ounce of courage and love that I could. I told her I would do everything in my power to convince the world that lives like hers matter. The look in her eyes wasn't uncommon. That's the same look of hope that I saw in so many of the beings trapped within those walls. But it wasn't until I was standing in the room where these animals were being sold, that I saw that look in a human child.

She was jumping around, playing on metal bleachers. So innocent. So unknowing of the lives like hers just feet away. But once her eyes found us standing against the wall, she stopped playing. Curiosity danced in her eyes. All of us frozen in time. Paper numbers rising and falling. She staring at us, as we watched the stream of calves getting pushed through square doors. She paused and looked at us with hope in her eyes. With the same message that I sent to all the animals before, I looked back at her, sending her all the love and the courage that I had left. Because it's us who have to change to save the lives of everyone I witnessed that day.

"Until Every Cage is Empty"

humanity
1

About the Creator

Abigail Lynn

Instagram:

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.