Petlife logo

Not all soulmates are people

My soulmate is not a person but a cat.

By Charlotte O'BeirnePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Mr.Tabby (the cat)

A soulmate doesn't have to be a lover but is someone you are destined to meet, what if it's a cat? The cat that I loved so dearly I found injured, sick, dying and, alone. In this cat I found a beautiful friendship and a lovely companion this is the story of how I saved Mr.Tabby, or maybe he was the one saving me.

With 2 cats and a dog along with a fish I was content with the company I found in them I didn't realize I was missing a pet but boy was I wrong. Hearing about a stray cat from neighbors I put a dish of food and water out without a second thought, the food was being eaten but I still never saw the culprit until one morning stepping outside I saw him, he was wobbling on 3 legs limping there was a bite mark out of it he was so skinny looked like he was on the verge of collapsing, at that moment my heart broke and I made it a mission that I was gonna help him.

After he spotted me fear flashed through his eyes on the verge of bolting I quickly hurried inside leaving him to eat. Leaving food for him and going inside became a routine for a while wanting him to eat without scaring him. After I noticed him gaining a bit of weight I started sitting several feet away from him so he could get used to my presence he was very caution but was still so hungry after 2 months of this, getting closer to him every few weeks I was able to sit a foot away while he ate although he was still caution the progress was made.

One day to my surprise when I was putting food in the dish he bumped his head against my hand, I ended up jumping accidently flinging food on his head, he didn't mind he continued eating the food from the dish letting me clean him off. After that day he started sticking around more letting me pet him when he was eating. Eventually he let me pet him even without food. I enjoy the bit of affection he showed along with how healthy he started looking, gaining strength along with weight.

The healthier he got and the more I was around the more he let me pet him, I started spending hours outside with him basically whenever I could I was outside with him, I was never able to get him inside or to the vet but we were content, sure he wasn't the youngest,prettiest or the most affectionate along with being grumpy a lot of the time but he showed he liked me in other ways, he always slept next to me when I was outside, rubbing against my legs even when he hissed not wanting to be pet, he always got up to greet me from school or just going to the store. We were as happy as can be truly enjoying eachothers company, at least I'd like to think he enjoyed mine.

Sadly not all good things last forever. after taking care of him for 3 1/2 years he started moving slower, sleeping deeper, grumpier than usual, not enjoying the morning sun by rolling in the grass, wanting to be alone more, One day after school I found out he passed by a coyote attack along with another cat of mine, I was devastated but I'm glad he didn't suffer at least not too much, I will forever miss both cats that I lost that day but I am truly grateful for the time I got with them, but It may have been the most humane way for them to go at least quick. So yes, I believe a soulmate can be a pet sometimes they make you happier than any person could and just like people they eventually have to go but I hope we meet again in another life, but for now it is goodbye or maybe just a see you later.

cat
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.