Petlife logo

Nope--Still here!

Just "doing stuff!"

By Kimberly J EganPublished 27 days ago Updated 27 days ago 4 min read
1
Sunshine and BuckyBoo graze the blackberry and Carolina geranium patch. He's eating quite well on his own and will be weaned soon.

I'm so sorry to have disappeared for a week, but I was hard at work on my Challenge entry--and--inspired to work on the novel that I didn't finish during National Novel Writing Month! YES! I have polished three more chapters and added a significant amount of new content. I am hoping to get the "second act" completed during this month's Camp NaNo. Once the whole novel "completed," I will go back and rework the first book of the series, using information that I learned about the character during this phase and publish them in order. I may try my hand at finishing a third book in this series, because I'm having a terrific time with the characters.

Old Dogs Update

Copper (left) and Leela (right). Copper wakes me up with this expression every morning. It's his "Mama, I love you, come fill my water bowl" expression. Sorry that it looks a little odd, but my bedroom was still a bit dark and I played with the lighting and the shadows. This picture of Leela is from a few days ago, when she got a chance to walk in the yard for a few minutes, when I was in the garden.

Some of you may have read about my tough February. In that post, I mentioned that I had a tough month back then, losing two of my beloved dogs and friend-cat Emma. At the end of the post, I said that I was still worried about Copper, Leela, and Cowboy. Well, I'm happy to report that all of those dogs are still with us!

Copper has gained back much of the weight that he suddenly lost, but he is still painfully thin having lost all that muscle mass. He's making a bit of progress every day and yesterday I caught him hopping up the steps at the end of the bed! He can hop down from the couch without doing a faceplant! He's also doing better with his muscular control entirely. When he walks, he is far more pliable. Keep thinking those good thoughts for him, because I think this old boy will definitely make it to his next birthday (April 24). Yay, Copper! Who's the good boy?

Leela had a really tough March. If it were not for her having completely normal neurological function, I would have suspected the vestibular disease that took her mother from us all those years ago. She was listless, with no appetite or energy, and she flopped in place--it's hard to explain--she didn't lie down or sleep normally. It was diagnosed as "age," being rather non-specific in the way it affected her. She went through a very scary two-week period during which I was afraid to leave the house, not knowing what I would find when I returned. I'm happy to report that she was doing well enough to accompany me outside to the garden the other day. Her energy is returning and she actually tried to steal Copper's supper from him last night. Not bad for a mostly-blind, mostly-deaf, fifteen-year-old!

Cowboy's arthritis was laying him very low during the cold-then cool-then warm-then cool temperatures of March. He decided at one point that he was no longer going to eat kibble, just his raw venison chunks. Then it was no venison chunks, but he'd eat the small dogs' ground venison. Then he decided that he would only eat the ground venison if it were slightly cooked! If he weren't so old, he wouldn't have gotten away with refusing the chunks, but being nearly seventeen has its privileges. The poor guy didn't have the energy or the physical ability to follow us as we did our chores. But even though he's still being picky, his anti-arthritic pills keep him up and walking. He was feeling well enough to go out to the orchard with us while we were grafting the pear tree--you geaux Cowboy!

The Goats!

Sunshine and BuckyBoo are doing great! He's starting to wean himself. At night, when I bring them into the pen to separate them for milk sharing, she has started to have just a bit more milk in her udder. That means, if he is going to stay here for a while, that he will be weaned, put on the opposite grazing schedule as Sunshine, then wethered. Once he's been wethered for a couple of weeks, he can go back on the same grazing schedule as his dam again. Once he's grown enough so that he won't get hurt, he will go into the buck pasture with Screechy and Gus.

The Cats!

Patience (left) is a new mom of possibly three kittens. She hovers around Sunshine when I'm milking now, just to get a bit extra milk in the morning. Creamsicle is my oldest cat, at or nearly six years old. He's a tough old tomcat who keeps strange cats and dogs away. At the same time, I've witnessed him carrying food to last year's kittens, who are now all adults. He waits until they eat, even if it means he doesn't get anything. He's my best gardening buddy, ragged right ear and all.

We have achieved kittens! Patience has had her kittens. No pictures yet, as she had them under the cottage and I can't get a good look at them. Now that I'm sure that my barn cats will continue, Patience will be spayed once they are weaned. Creamsicle is a tough old cat. He's recovered completely from his upper respiratory condition, but the still-chilly nights are playing havoc with the arthritis caused by the gunshot wound he had when he was younger. He's getting fed off by himself now, morning and night, including some of Sunshine's fresh milk.

Thank you so much for reading my little stories about my animals and my homestead. If you like what you're reading, please give me a like and, maybe, subscribe. And, as usual, here's the obligatory pitch for a tip or a pledge, if you really, really like me! Take care and I'll see you soon!

dog
1

About the Creator

Kimberly J Egan

Welcome to LoupGarou/Conri Terriers and Not 1040 Farm! I try to write about what I know best: my dogs and my homestead. I currently have dogs, cats, dairy goats, quail, and chickens--and in 2025--rabbits! Come take a look into my life!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.