Petlife logo

New Kitty Mom At 57

Did I save his life, or did he save mine?

By Susana ShadowsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
New Kitty Mom At 57
Photo by Daniel Park on Unsplash

I was not planning on adopting another pet at the moment. But as we all know, sometimes life throws us curves we just do not see coming.

About three weeks ago, my husband came home from work holding a very tiny tiger kitten. It looked to be about three weeks old. I looked at my husband and said, "Oh, NO, what are you doing.

He began to explain to me that the job they are working on is an empty house. He does home remodeling. He claims he kept hearing this teeny tiny little meow all day long. So he began looking to see where it had come from.

Low and behold was this tiny little beauty. He said he watched all day and saw no sign of a mother cat. We have been having crazy hot weather and he feared that the little guy would die out there alone.

So he scoops him up and brings him home to me. He knew I had been saying no more pets since we lost our 14-year-old Yorkie. He also knew I could never turn this poor baby away. I tried to get him to drink milk from a small with no luck.

I quickly headed down the road to our local farm store and purchased Mother's milk for kittens, a few small syringes, a cat carrier, a cozy soft cat bed, litter and pan, oh and a couple of toys.

I know, a little extreme for someone who didn't want a pet. Well, anyway, $100 later, and I'm getting up every few hours hand feeding this kitten, who now goes by the name of Mo.

So much work goes into nursing a stray baby cat. It is not for the weak, lol. It is a round-the-clock dedication. Not only do you have to feed the little guy he also has to be kept clean and stimulated to go to the potty.

Gross, I know, but since a mother cat gets this job done by licking her babies clean, and he has no mama cat to do so. So yeah, it is on me. I found it easiest to do this particular unpleasant task in the bathroom sink.

I run warm water over the kitty, using a clean washrag to gently scrub his area until he does his pees and poos. Then it runs down the sink. Finally, he gets a little bath and smells better. Win all right?

Fast forward a couple of weeks. Mo is growing and thriving. He pounces and plays. We have just started getting him to use the litter box somewhat. I am still washing him down at least once a day.

He has not shown any interest in the kitten chow yet. I'm hoping this changes soon. Once he graduates to solids, I figure he will be able to all of his potty business on his own in the litter box. Fingers-crossed.

To say this little guy is spoiled already is putting it mildly. He has already had two trips to the vet to make sure he is progressing as he should. He goes with me in the car when I go out to babysit my 3-year-old granddaughter, who is head-over-heels in love with him, to say the least.

He will be going back to the vet soon to be vaccinated and wormed. Then another trip to be neutered. He is going to be unhappy with me that day!

The vet has given me a thumbs up, says I am doing all the right things and is very healthy. So, to sum it up, the lady who didn't want a pet kitty is now invested and would not give him up for anything.

I just didn't expect to be a new mommy at age 57, grandma yes, cat mommy no. I guess when it is right, it is right. Now I have a new best furbaby to keep me company at this stage of life.

cat
1

About the Creator

Susana Shadows

A woman of the world who feels like she has already lived many lifetimes and adventures in just a handful of decades.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.