Petlife logo

NDCS - NaturalDogCommunicationSystem

Back to the roots - for a deeper connection with your dog

By Cian LoeschPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
NDCS with Cian & Cicky (Border Collie - Aussie - boy)

My name is Cian and I'm a dog trainer of Navajo-Choctaw-Irish heritage. Dog training is my passion - as well as my wife's. Regine and I have some awesome fur babies, wonderful boys named Cicky, Big Jim and Maddox. Our fourth fur baby, Boomer, went over the rainbow bridge a few months ago and he forever remains part of our family.

My dog training is based on the natural communication between canines and it's deeply rooted in my Native American culture as it was pre colonialisation. Dogs are our teachers and they teach us more about being human than most humans can - except we learn to see it that way.

Did you ever have the impression that your dogs understand every word you are saying? It's fact that they do! NDCS is my Natural Dog Training System that respects the dog as an equal family member. Using NDCS means to communicate through your body language, verbal and by your energy - all in balance.

Many dogs love a minimalistic body language. My favourite example is how Cicky, our Australian Shepherd - Border Collie mix, reacts to my breath. When I start communicating and have his attention, it's enough to exhale and he lays down. When I breath in and lift my shoulders in a quick movement, he sits. This also workes from the distcance like 20 metres and he also does this with my wife and even with our students. He was my teacher in this way of communicating and I started to work with that. Our other fur babies und my furry students do the same.

However, NDCS is focused on an authentic, deep communication with your dog. It's not about "when do that the dog has to react like this" or "movement A leads to reaction B". Actually, it's quite different. If you want your dog to sit, using NDCS requires you to check on yours and your dog's emotional situation and state of mind. It's recommended to reflect: Does my dog pay attention to me? Is there too much distraction? Is it really necessary to sit or is it enough if my dog pays attention and is focused on me while standing? Why should my dog sit right now?

Whatever your decision might be, if you sense the hole situation and act accordingly, your dog feels understood and respected. Then, your dog is willing to cooperate in a reliable way. If your dog should sit, in this example, you simply have to bend your upper body slightly (NOT above the dog) in an almost invisible way. Or you can breathe in and lift your shoulders for a second. Then your dog will sit, because you communicated instead of using your "sit" finger. The dog's reaction is based on understanding instead of following a habit.

As easy as it sounds, which it actually is, NDCS forces people to reflect their own intentions, body language and energy. Dogs react to nuances. They distinguish between a person, who wants to try a method or has the intention to communicate with their furry friend. Dogs, as our best teachers, reflect that like a mirror. When dogs feel respected, understood and loved and the human is open for a deeper communication and learn canine language, communicating is easy, very reliable and on a much deeper level.

Nowadays, this old knowledge is almost forgotten. And it's my heartfelt wish that people treat their dog as an equal family member and treat them as they deserve it. Back then, in our Native American cultures, dogs were appreciated and honoured. After colonialisation this changed. Of course, there are people who see dogs as we do - in the US and Europe. If my dog training school can contribute to change humans and dogs life as a family for the better, I'm happy.

Enjoy your time with your fur companion.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.