Petlife logo

My Tribe

Small people in furry suits

By NarmoniPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Cee Cee and IKE

Have you ever tried to herd cats, it is possible, I do it twice a day with five indoor and eight outside. All rescues, all beautiful, all mine. Not really, cats belong to no one. I'm their servant, and they know it. Oldest girl CeCe, kids brought her to me in the school Cafeteria I was the manager of. The kids always brought me kittens, I always wondered why they bring them to me. All the terrible things people say about school cafeterias were they not afraid I would cook it and serve it for lunch: you know mystery meat??

Then there is IKE. I got him because CeCe kept attacking me wanting to play. I figured I would get her someone her own size with fangs. He's the only male in a tribe of female felines. he's my head butter, my hugger, my, I want to lick your hair guy. I found him on the shelter's website. I saw his pic and knew I had to bring him home. He had been there since a kitten and he was ten months old. A really big cat with long legs. When they took him out of the cage he wrapped those long arms around my neck and that was it, I was his!

Maybee, that's her name. I found her on the drive outside the back door at work, she still had the cord attached, maybe a few hours old, maybe she'd live, maybe she'd die, hence the name Maybee. BTW she grew up to be a total bitch! If she was human, she would be a diva!

Then the black girls came along. Loony and Sweetie, ying and yang, crazy and sane. Loony will be all over you on the couch wanting to be petted. She is worse than that kid at the beach that you hear yelling to its mom. Mom, mom, mom, mom. Or when you are on the phone, mom, mom, mom, mom.....She will sit there and tap, tap, tap, tap your arm for you to pet her till it drives you insane. BUT, if for any reason YOU have to pick her up, She acts like a cat that thinks it's going to be cooked in a school cafeteria. Howling kicking biting, she is f-ing crazy!! Sweetie, on the other hand, is like a dog. She has to be with me in the office always. If I don't let her in when I go first thing, she throws herself against the door. Think poltergeist sounding, I'm not kidding. I found them on a street across from the school I worked at, eating garbage from a bag. They were so little. People suck, spay, and neuter your animals, PLEASE! Anyway, I won't rant. The outside cats, there have been so many that I have cared for. They all take a piece of me when they go. The people next door moved and left eight cats. 4 more showed when we began feeding them. Took them all in to be fixed. I guess they figured you did that to me, now you are stuck with me! I feed them wet and dry twice a day. Take them all to the vet when they are sick. They all have names, according to their personality. Big Tom, Dash, Cleo, Thing 1 and Thing 2, Coco, King and, BA. Stands for Bad Attitude. I love them all. I'm not a cat hoarder, I swear. I'm just looking over them till they cross that rainbow bridge. Someone has to. I also have two dogs. I did not officially rescue the dogs, but in a way I did. I found them on the internet. But they came from a puppy mill that was shut down. So in a way I did, they have a great home with five felines and they all love each other. Everyone says I am the crazy cat lady, they call me for advice. I can't begin to tell you how many cats I have TNVR ed. Too many to count, but I don't agree with the whole concept really. I mean you take this wild animal, you have it fixed, and then turn it back out into the wild to fend for itself. They decimate wildlife, die horrible deaths, either by decease, other animals cruel humans, or just starvation. Cats are an invasive species to America, came on ships from Europe. They kill pythons in Florida, don't they? I bet if they had cute fussy faces like a kitten they would figure something else out because people would be so upset. Another rant, I will spare you. Bottom line, keep your cats indoors, your dogs too. HAVE THEM FIXED you are doing them a favor. Believe me, statistics show they live healthier lives. When you think you might not want to do that think of all the animals put down every year in the US, millions! Every single one of them had their own little distinct personality just like you and me, only probably a lot nicer.

adoption
1

About the Creator

Narmoni

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.