Petlife logo

My Teddy Bear

Bringer of joy

By Virginia FrostPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
My little hero

With great sadness I have outlived a few dogs in my adult life and every time a new dog comes into my life I think "this is my perfect dog", completely ignoring the fact that I've said it every time previously. Obviously they're all perfect, just in different ways.

When I lost my last dog to a road accident I was determined to find a new love in my life and began the difficult search. The sun finally returned to my life when I found my 6 month old Maltese puppy.

He had another name at the time, (can't remember what) but it didn't suit him so a lot of brainstorming happened to come up with something suitable. I could think of many names for girl dogs which were very cute but he's a boy and he's completely white.

He reminds of a modern teddy bear, which seem to be made in mainly white, different from older teddies who came in a more natural looking browny/tan fur colour.

So he became Teddy and he's just turned four recently. We live in a smallish apartment and he has adjusted extremely well to a more indoor lifestyle, although he does love being outdoors.

Like all dogs he has a unique personality which is a source of never ending enjoyment and entertainment for me. He's incredibly social and loves people, unfortunately even people I'm not that keen on.

One of the things I love about him is that when we're walking together and someone is coming towards us, even a stranger, more often that not they just smile when they see him as he prances along in a happy, excited way that is quite contagious. This happiness that he seems to transmit warms my heart and makes me feel at one with the world. It's like he's doing his bit for world happiness, one person at a time.

Because I walk him 3 times a day, I do tend to encounter quite a few people, and sometimes other dogs and this has led to some wonderful friendships, which I am sure would not have happened otherwise.

I previously lived in a house and didn't take my dogs out for walks as they had large gardens to enjoy and it was only when I moved to an apartment that I started to walk the dog, for obvious reasons.

But I had no idea that this would lead to a completely new life for me with a whole new group of friends, both dog owners and non dog owners. The people in my building know and love Teddy as he always likes to stop for a pat and a chat with anyone in the lobby or the lift.

The power of a dog's affection cannot be overstated. There is just something loving and joyful within them that they want to share. My mother was in a nursing home for the last few years of her life and whenever I went to visit her I took Teddy with me. Not only did he bring joy to her, but as we passed through the main community area of the home, many of the residents were keen to interact with him, with pats and endearments. He loved that and was happy to join in, especially if they had some food nearby.

However, he knew that our main mission was to see his "nanny" and he would go flying into her room and straight onto her bed, where he would circle a few times and then plop down on her chest until it was time to go.

She passed away not too long ago and although I would have enjoyed visiting the caring staff who had looked after her, I don't feel I can take him back there, as I know he would want to run straight into her room and she wouldn't be there.

He has been my saviour in many ways, a precious companion in isolation, a means of making me get exercise and fresh air (especially when I don't want to get up), a conduit to many wonderful and caring people and a furry friend I can cuddle up to when I need a hug.

The longer your dog is with you the closer you become, and you work out each other's strange behaviours and learn to tune into each other.

I had a dog who was with me for 16 years and I honestly felt like he was a soulmate, when I looked into his eyes. We seemed to know each other so well and it was hell when he left me, but I find that I cannot be without a dog so I have never gone more than a month without finding another little creature I can love and share my life with.

And the strange thing is that as dreadful and heartbreaking as that final parting is, there is room in your heart for another one, without ever breaking the attachment you had to the one who left.

I know of many people who will not get another dog after the pain of the loss, and I understand that, but for me that's not an option.

It's quite likely that Teddy will be my last dog and I will treasure every day we are together, hopefully for many years yet.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.