Petlife logo

My Sweet BabyGirl

A thank you for the dog that saved my life multiple times.

By Alexis KnochelPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1

Hello beautiful, it’s only been a few days since you left, but I miss you so much. You were always there for me when no one else was. When no one even noticed I was hurting, but you always knew. You’d come piter pattering into my room and jump onto the bed and snuggle into the covers with me. Staring at me with those big eyes that told me everything would be okay.

Let’s go to the beginning... When dad brought you home you had been hurt and abused by your previous owner. It took you a little bit of time but you soon opened up and allowed us to love you. And boy did I fall, you quickly became my best friend. Even though you used every chance you could to steal my blankets. I didn’t mind though I wish you would come steal them now.

We spent many years together, and when I moved out you came with me. You health had started declining so I would try to make sure to take you walking everyday, and feed you the best food I could afford. You soon grew tired of apartment life and not having a big back yard to run around in. So you moved back with mom, dad, and the girls.

I would visit as often as I could, but I always had work. Even still whenever I’d come home to visit you would come running to tell me how much you missed me. I would spend more time with you than my sisters, playing and taking you to the park. My heart would break everytime I had to leave, but I always knew you would be waiting for me when I came back.

Until I didn’t anymore, three weeks ago my sister texts me that you’re getting bad. You barely eat and your stomach is swelling with tumors. You wouldn’t go outside anymore because you didn’t have the energy to climb back up the steps.

I got to see you two more times and both times I left with tears rolling down my face. You were in so much pain and it hurt me to see you like that. I knew you didn’t have much longer but I still hoped you would miraculously get better and I would come back to running up to me again.

You never did though. I got the call a couple nights ago. When I answered that phone and heard crying I immediately knew what happened. I couldn’t speak, I couldn’t breathe, I ran outside and fell to the ground crying. You were gone and I didn’t get to say goodbye.

So here it is, goodbye my beautiful girl. I hope you know how much you meant to me and how much you have helped me throughout the years. I love you so so much. I’ll never forget you baby girl and I can’t wait to see again.

Sweet Dreams Beautiful

dog
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.