Petlife logo

My Rescue Dog, Charlie

My dog came thousands of miles to me.

By Paige WyldePublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
After a hard day playing. 

I took a job as a volunteer in a small dog rescue. I told myself I wouldn't take any of the dogs home. I did pretty well for a while, seeing the new dogs come in and out.

Our dogs are a little different. Each of them come from Greece; different situations for each dog, but usually found as a stray in the streets. They come over to us, and we begin our work to settle the dog and then get them rehomed. The majority of them are scooped up right away, luckily. The rest may take some time, but we always find them homes.

A few months later, I get that text.

"We have five new rescues."

Reading the list, I saw a name and laughed. A labrador mix, unneutered? I imagined a bouncing ball of fuzz and slobber. Not quite the case.

When I met the mentioned dog, he was a small, skinny thing; quiet, reserved, with the biggest hazel eyes you've ever seen on such a little head. I approached the dog, him eyeing me up, shaking a little from his experience of flying to the UK. I decided to leave it, approach him when he's less scared, and turned around to talk to my colleague, when I heard the the little clippy nails on the floor. I didn't turn just yet, but then felt a paw in my hand. My colleague began to gush, and I looked down to see the little labrador sat on his bum, paw in my hand.

Needless to say, I was a goner. I spent the day with the dog, known then as Paris. He was perfect in every way. I spoke to my boss during my break and asked for his adoption papers there and then. Due to the traveling, and in case of any issues, the dog had to stay there for two weeks after arrival. I waited for my shifts to see him, caving the day before and driving the 30 miles to see him for ten minutes.

Eventually the time came, and he was fine to be homed. Now I had to wait on the house check. I was sad about thinking of waiting much longer for him, until I got the message.

"Have you got everything for the dog? I can bring him with me to the check and leave him with you."

So began the rush to obtain beds, bowls, food, and toys.

And then, my little boy came home. He'd never seen stairs, jumped when I turned on the TV. I had to spend time teaching him how to manoeuvre his legs up and down the staircase. Once he got the hang of it, he began thundering up and down them to show off. That night, he slept on his back, cuddled up to me. A dog sleeping on its back, paws up, is the most vulnerable position to be in. It meant he was truly happy.

Charlie's story came about a week later. I'd noticed the giant scar on his throat and neck, but didn't think into it. I found out he was abandoned in a forest in Greece, left to fend for himself. The scars must have been his chain he had to free himself from. I look at him everyday and wonder how could someone do that to him?

Cost-wise, he was the most expensive rescue I've seen. Due to his full vaccinations, passport (yes, his own passport), and flights, he came to around $400. He eats tailor-made food, for his coat, which has grown in fully; shiny and no more dry patches, any joint issues. Labradors have a higher disposition with hip dysplasia; a horrific affliction.

I eat the basics from the store, value beans, shop around for the best deals, so my little prince can have the best. I debate spending a little extra for certain things, yet with Charlie? I spent $40 on treats in one day. I even bought a dog biscuit baking set for us to make our own treats. He helped.

Charlie comes with me everywhere; dog friendly pubs, all my friends' houses, trips home to visit my parents. He's my sidekick, my best friend. I'm getting married soon, and I'm making sure to get a photo shoot with him in my dress, as the venue wants an extra two thousand to be able to allow my pup in.

Charlie is my little white angel—my little boy. I'm beyond thrilled every day when I see his silly squishy face that we had the fortune to meet.

Patiently awaiting biscuits.

Looking at a photo of his girlfriend.

adoption
Like

About the Creator

Paige Wylde

A volunteer dog handler for a rescue that works to bring Greek dogs to a new life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.