Petlife logo

My Pet Ownership (Part 1)

Life with Pets

By Mandy Eve-BarnettPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
.

I have had pets of various sorts throughout out my life, each one gave me love in its own unique way. It also taught me that caring for another being is not to be taken lightly, no matter the trials and tribulations, I experienced while they were with me.

My earliest memories are of my faithful trio, two cats and a German Shepherd (Alsatian as I knew them). We wandered the large walled garden and lawns, exploring and at times escaping its confines. Our escapades were to visit my Aunt, who lived some distance away across a busy road. To make our escape my furry friends and I had to dig our way under a wire fence. Bear in mind I was about 18 months to 2 years old at this time! The dog, Nikki would begin the dig, propelling dirt backwards in large clumps, then the cats and I would clear the debris and I pulled up the wire so we could all squeeze through. This endeavor took time and more often than not, foiled by my mother noticing the ‘quiet’ and coming to investigate. She would use a diversion of snacks to lure us away and have my father repair the damage. The few times we managed our escape, my Aunt would receive us with open arms, give us treats and phone my mother to let her know where we were.

Another of my trio’s pastimes was to share the marrow bone. This was bought by my mother to make broth and then give to the dog to chew. However, as it looked like such a treat, I decided it should be shared. So, sitting in a circle, the dog, the two cats and I, would take turns licking the bone. Yes, I have a cast iron stomach!

When we moved to another home, our Alsatian was my only pet by that time, both cats had previously disappeared, probably victims of the busy road. My father began a new venture in our new place – breeding rabbits. So, a long shed with multiple cages was a delight. Lots of cuddly bunnies to pet. My father let us ‘keep’ one as a pet in the last cage at the back. However, all the rabbits were the same breed and remarkably similar. That rabbit lasted a very long time! Yes, I suspect it was replaced on a regular basis. At the same time my siblings had arrived, and we were able to have guinea pigs as well as dwarf rabbits in a separate shed. My father built a concrete pool/sand pit at the rear of the garden and when it was empty, we would spend hours watching the little furry animals run around in it. Of course, having lots of guinea pigs produced lots of guinea pigs, so we were always giving them away.

My next pet was a birthday gift from my parents, and one I was overjoyed about. He was a superb seal point Persian cat and I named him Raja. He was majestic, beautiful and totally enamoured with me, as I was of him. He was an indoor cat and soon had a routine. He would wake me up by licking my face and purring. He would sit on the living room windowsill to watch me go to school and be there when I returned home. He snuggled with me but was very reserved with the rest of the household. My poor mother suffered as every time she opened the pantry door, he would climb up her legs, claws out to get to his food. Alas, Raja got our one morning, when my father opened the front door to bring in the milk bottles. (yes, milk used to be delivered). He was struck by a car and although we rushed him to the vet, there was nothing they could do. I was heartbroken.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.