Petlife logo

My New Best Friend

A pet is a lifetime commitment.

By Lori BriziusPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
A PET IS A LIFETIME COMMITMENT

MY NEW BEST FRIEND

Sometimes in life, we come across that one special being, that one amazing soul that loves us so deeply, so unconditionally, that we call them our “best friend.” Sometimes, that best friend comes in the form of a sweet four-legged dog, cat, rabbit or other “fur baby.”

Whichever form your new best friend takes, choosing this new family member, friend and companion is not only something you should carefully consider, but is also your responsibility to research, as well.

About 12 years ago, I had lost my German Shephard, “Kano,” to a long illness. He was 11 years old, and had lived a good life, but it was still devastating as with the loss of any pet. My boyfriend had given me time to grieve, but eventually made the decision that it was time to get another dog. The discussion began about what breed we wanted, and he had his heart set on getting a Rottweiler.

Now, the reason I insist on doing research was for moments like this. I had worked in animal shelters for years, had been a veterinary tech/assistant, owned a pet sitting business, and so on, BUT I had never owned a Rottweiler nor had I been around many. So, even with my vast experience I took the time to research the breed, talk to Rottweiler rescues, talk to a few behavioral professionals, and look into what type(s) of health issues this breed might be prone to.

Most people rescue or adopt a pet with the greatest intentions, but there are pitfalls to taking a pet home without considering your circumstances OR that pet’s needs. For instance, if you are an active person, love to run, and spend most of your time outdoors… why would you bring home a Basset Hound? On the other hand, if you’re a “couch potato,” or prefer to stay home and read, watch movies or like the “home body” life... why would you choose a Jack Russell Terrier?

Over the years, I’ve seen many, many pets returned to the shelter because they don’t fit that person’s lifestyle or they have too much energy or they are too much work. They expected the pet to be one way when they brought them home, but the pet ended up exhibiting behavior specific to that breed, and unfortunately, the new owner didn’t know what that breed was like or was capable of.

The good news is… most animal shelters are equipped with staff, and even volunteers that can lead you in the right direction. It is the responsibility of shelter/rescue staff to help you find the right best friend for you and your family, and not just be about “the numbers.” Be inquisitive, ask as many questions as you feel the need to ask, and provide information to the staff about what YOU are looking for. Tell them you have small children so they won’t show you dogs that are not good with children under 12 years old or cats that are older or came from a “one person” home.

Tell them you have two cats so they won’t suggest the dogs that are prey driven or the cats that are isolated because they don’t get along with other cats in the shelter cat house. If you plan on leaving a dog home for long periods of time try to stay away from puppies or dogs that may be experiencing some form of separation anxiety. Many shelters/rescues employ behavioral experts that do assessments on the pets a few days after their arrival to the shelter to see if they exhibit any unusual behavior that might be problematic if placed in certain homes. These evaluations are crucial to you, the potential adopter to ensure that the right pet or pets are entering your home.

So, when choosing your new bestie, please consider these things:

  • Does this pet fit in with my lifestyle?
  • Have I done my research?
  • Do I have to train this pet (if needed)?
  • What can I expect from this breed and is this the right breed for me and my family?
  • If I adopt an older pet, do I have the means to provide veterinary care and a safe environment?
  • If I take on a puppy, do I have the time for him/her?
  • Does this pet have extra needs that I need to consult with a trainer or behavioral expert for?
  • Am I responsible enough to take this pet for the duration of his/her life?
  • Do I adopt from a shelter/rescue? Or do I want to find a pet through a breeder, newspaper ad, friend or pet sore?

Whether you want a puppy, cat, rabbit, guinea pig, potbellied pig or bird… you are opening your life and heart to an experience you will never forget, and will hopefully, never regret. Finding the right best friend, companion or family fur baby can be a wonderful experience if you just take the time to remember that taking on any living, breathing creature is a huge responsibility not to be taken lightly.

“PETS FILL YOUR HEART WITHOUT TRYING.”

Peace…

adoption
Like

About the Creator

Lori Brizius

I am a tree hugging, animal advocate with great kids, and a passion for travel and adventure.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.