Petlife logo

My Lovely Pets

Why I have so many, there is eight

By Ashley StarkeyPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
My Lovely Pets
Photo by Anoir Chafik on Unsplash

Bandit

My first rescue was Bandit. At the time that I got him he was a seven year old chihuahua. I seen him on facebook for free he had 24 hours to be picked up or he had to go to the shelter. I knew being seven years old he probably wouldn't find a home very well. His owner had died, she had him his whole life he was a sad little boy anyway he needed someone to love him. So he was my first forever rescue. He is the sweetest little guy ever he was very loved and you could tell it. I have had him five years now. At first I didn't think he would become my forever cause he had never seen children before. His owner who passed was in her 80s.

Gizmo

Second non rescue Gizmo was was just born and I happen to see her ad on facebook she was the cutest ever she was white with two brindle patches one on her eye and one that was shaped like a heart on her lower back. So I talked to the breeder I wanted her. I picked her out the day she was born and I got her for my daughter. My daughter didn't understand that Bandit was old and didn't really want to play. Gizmo got to come home two days before my daughter's fourth birthday at eight weeks old. She is now two years old and spoiled rotten. She loves my daughter and even sleeps with her, cutest thing ever.

Daisy

Third non rescue I found out that if you have two chihuahuas and one dies the other might too, kind of like from a broken heart. Well Gizmo was about six months old and we found out that bandit had cancer. So I contacted same person I got Gizmo from and I got Daisy. Daisy looks just like Bandit, actually looks like bandit is her dad. It's so funny when someone sees the both of them they automatically say you look just like daddy. Truthfully though they aren't related. Daisy is completely tan with a faded balck strip down her back.

Binx

Four rescue I had a lady that I know call me about a Pitbull. She had told me that she needed a home for him as soon as possibly he kept biting people. She needed a home that didn't have people coming in and out of their house a lot and had a place to run. Well I don't get along with people very well so I decided since me and my daughter had been around him a lot and never had problems I would take him. He was 9 months old when I got him. I knew he wouldn't be a fit in the shelter and would probably be put down, and me and my daughter loved him. Its been six months now he is finally living freely having a fence in place no one bothering him. He doesn't feel threaten anymore and now he is a big baby literally, he thinks he is a lap dog and will actually let you hold him as a baby.

Mama

Five rescue My kitty cat (mama). My mom got a call asking her if she knew anyone to catch a cat cause winter was coming she was homeless and they needed to catch her to find a home. She had been living on the streets. Mom called me since I use to work at a shelter and we would catch cats fix them and so forth. I agreed to catch her so that she could be let in until he found her a home. Well after catching her I realized she was pregnant I asked what he planned to do. He said he wasn't sure cause he couldn't take care of her and babies if something went wrong. She was almost due you could tell it. So I said I could take her. I take her in and two weeks later we welcomed five beautiful babies in the world.

Panda

Six Rescue Kitty (Panda) I had found a baby kitten running the streets in the winter. I checked it out he was about eight weeks old and I didn't want to leave him outside. I checked to see if anyone in my area was missing him. No one was we live in the country. I took him in made post etc but nothing so he became another forever member. He is a black and white kitty and looks like a panda bear.

Diamond and Chewy brother and sister

Seven and eight rescues (Diamond and Chewy) These guys are babies only four months old as I am writing this. There was an accident litter of 75% pitbull 25% basket hound. They lady called me asking if I could take two puppies. I asked questions and realized these guys were baby babies. So of course I said yes. These guys being baby babies I am actually training them to be service dogs once they are finally trained they will be going to their new owners. As of right now they are staying with me to get trained their owners gets to see them and work with them as well where we are already at. I have trained five service dogs before, so they want me to continue their training which I don't mind. These guys are the cutest. Chewy is solid white and his sister Diamond is brindle.

As you can see I love animals and I don't turn them away on breed. I have three chihuahuas two cats and three Pitbulls. They all get along with each other and they are friendly and even play with each other. Binx the pitbull will even cuddle Panda the kitten. I have always loved animals and tried to save as many as I possibly could. So when I found my house on an acre I planned on continuing to save them, now that I don't have to worry about being told that I can't have them. I had actually set in mind to save Pitbulls the most because they are the ones that get sent to shelters the most around me, but guess I was meant to have a mixture. My best friend growing up with a Pitbull we saved who was living in a house by himself cause his owner went to jail and the lady who was suppose to be taking care of him could only be with him about an hour a day, and she didn't think that was fair, so I got my best friend. He would let me lay on him as a pillow, I could hook him up to my bike and he would walk with me, and even stop at every corner and wait for me to say okay before crossing the streets. Brusier was my first Pitbull in my life and I fell in love with them. Now you know why I have so many animals. Yes they are all very well loved, I go through 150 pounds of dog food a month but they are all well worth it. All the dogs even get lots of treats a day and they all get doggy bones a piece. They call us Angels to them but really they are our angels, they help with depression and they are always waiting for us to come home when we leave and they never turn their backs on us.

If you like my story and would like to help me with taking care of the fur babies you are welcome to leave tips, Thank you in advance.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Ashley Starkey

My name is Ashley I am 28. I love writing and wanted some where I could share some writings with people. I am working on how to write for public though as normally no one sees my stuff. I have three kids and lots of animals.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.